Farmers Market Fridays!

Standard

I love farmers markets. The one I visited in Bloomington was fantastic and made me want to make the extra effort to visit the Downtown Farmers Market here in State College this week. I made it an office excursion, bringing along coworkers Greg and Matt, and taking orders from the rest of the crew for any goodies they wanted. The State College Farmers Market takes place on Tuesdays and Fridays on McAllister St. I’m sure they do very well, especially on football weekends. Despite this weekend not being a football weekend, the traffic downtown made you think otherwise. The Farmers Market seemed to be reeping the benefits of the increased car and foot traffic.

It’s definitely apple season! My coworker treated himself to a cup of apples, nuts and caramel. I stuck with just a nice bucket of apples.

Doesn’t that look delicious?!?

I always enjoy checking out what the Amish and Mennonites bring. Their baked goods are always quite yummy. Several other vendors also offered baked goodies like the ones below. I can just imagine the bread with a nice home cooked meal, can’t you?


I normally buy sunflowers at the market, but I’m pretty sure we’re almost out of sunflower season. I did spy these however, and ended up splurging on an arrangement too!

These bright colors are sure to brighten up the office on a cloudy day!

I wish I had taken photos of all the fruits, veggies and other things being sold at this week’s market. Each vendor had so many wonderful colors. Oh, I almost forgot one final photo!

I think it's almost Halloween! I'll definitely need to pick one of these up to carve sometime very soon!

Make sure you visit your local farmers market. It’s a great way to support local farmers, and it’s often a place to find organic, pesticide-free produce. Can’t go wrong there!

Quote for the day: “I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles.” ~Audrey Hepburn

I'd love to hear from you!

