Back on Track

Standard

Wow! It’s been a hectic two weeks, but things are as close to normal as I think they’re going to be for awhile. So I’m going to do my best to get back on track with my blog.

With it being a challenging (both mentally and physically) two weeks, I have to admit my healthy eating habits took a minor detour. Ok, let’s be honest…it was a ridiculous detour. However, the past two days I’ve been working on getting myself back on a schedule, packing snacks and meals and attempting to make good choices. With Thanksgiving next week, that will be really important!

The gym has been my release more than normal. I always feel better after a kick-butt workout, but it’s been especially helpful during this trying time. It was a piece of normalcy in the craziness that became my every day.

Last weekend I was on the road with volleyball at Illinois and Northwestern. The weather was beautiful and I was able to get in a wonderful four mile run around the Illini campus and historic Urbana. I have to say I reached a new level of clumsiness at Illinois. I was about two miles from the gym, leaving a beautiful Urbana neighborhood when I took a nice tumble on an uneven sidewalk. With a line of cars sitting at a traffic light, it was certainly embarassing. I just hopped back up and kept running. It wasn’t until a mile later when my shoe came untied that I took time to check for injuries. Sure enough I had two skinned, and now bleeding knees. I was still a mile from the gym so I just kept running since it didn’t hurt too bad. Minus the scrapes and bruises, I’d say I came out just fine!

I didn’t get to take any pictures while on the roadtrip other than this one of Illinois’ Huff Hall prior to the match. It’s a neat, old gym and it definitely gets loud!

Huff Hall

So I found out my friend who was going to run the half marathon here in December with me can no longer do it. She has an injury, which the doctor really isn’t even sure what’s wrong, and needs to take at least three weeks off from running. As someone who has been battling a few injuries of her own, I know how hard it can be to take time off to heal. I am bummed, but we have other races we want to do in the spring so it’s smart of her to take the time now so she can be ready for the others down the road. I’m still contemplating doing the race, but will have to work on some of the logistics.

We got another blast of cold weather yesterday. I came out of the gym to find a light dusting of snow on all the cars. Here’s what was left this morning.

One final picture comes from the HUB, which for those of you who may not know is the Student Union on campus. We were cutting through to a press conference on the other side of campus and passed a familiar spot.

The Fish TanksThe Fish Tanks are a common meeting place in the HUB. I met many friends there before grabbing lunch at one of the many eateries, or when I was meeting a group for a project or study session. I remember the first time I was ever on campus prior to my senior year in high school. I was with my parents and we stopped to check out the tropical fish. In a rather childish moment I remember saying, “Hey mom! It’s Nemo!” Another memory involving the fish tanks comes from sophomore year. I was planning to meet a friend at the HUB for lunch and accidently said, “Great! I’ll meet you at the fishy tanks.” Yep, I said “fishy”. It was our inside joke for quite some time.

Well that’s all for now. I have two volleyball matches this weekend and hope to head home for a few short days before spending next Tuesday-Saturday on the road with the team.

I will definitely try and post again before the holiday. Hope you all have a wonderful Friday and weekend!

Quote for the Day: “Life is short. Break the rules, forgive quickly, kiss slowly, love truly, laugh uncontrollably, and never regret anything that made you smile.”

I'd love to hear from you!

