Giving Thanks – Part II

Standard

Time to continue my series on what I’m thankful for before my inaugural “Thankful Thursday” post tomorrow.

I’m thankful for…

My strength – I’ve worked hard for it and am thankful for what it allows me to do.

Travel – Getting to see new (and old) places is a passion of mine. While constant travel can get tiring, the places I’ve been able to go make it worth it.

My planner – It keeps me organized!

Books – They’re an escape for me. I love where they allow my imagination to go.

The Piano – While I wish I was better at it, I still love playing when I’m at home and can’t wait to have my own piano one day.

This Thanksgiving week I’m on the road with the women’s volleyball team. We are playing Ohio State tonight at 7 pm. Instead of flying home after the match like usual, we are staying and driving to Zanesville, OH to have Thanksgiving dinner with people neither I nor most of the team members know. It’ll be nice to have a home-cooked meal, but I’d by lying if I said I wouldn’t rather be at home with my own family. Regardless, I’ll try to make the best of it. After eating, we’ll drive five hours to East Lansing, MI to spend the rest of the week since we don’t play Michigan State until Saturday night. There had better be somewhere to shop on Friday…

We arrived in Columbus Tuesday afternoon. A college friend, Mary Kate, lives here and she picked Kelly and I up and gave us a nice tour of campus and some neat neighborhoods in Columbus. Afterwards, we went to dinner at an Ohio State themed bar and restaurant. It was pretty nice and the food was delicious. MK and I had a great spinach salad with rotisserie chicken, walnuts, feta and strawberries. After, Kelly and I visited the Kohls near the hotel before hitting the hotel gym. Clearly we were having trouble killing all the extra time we don’t normally have.

Today while the team practiced, I headed out on a run around campus. I did a nice 5k and even managed to find probably the only hill on campus to run up. Photos from campus are below.

View from the upper balcony in St. John Arena

The Schottenstein Center (home to basketball and men's ice hockey

The Horseshoe

On Tuesday, Mary Kate explained the tradition the Ohio State students have of running across Mirror Lake the week of the Buckeyes’ football game with Michigan. I managed to find the “lake”, which was more of a pond if we’re being technical. The pictures in the paper today were pretty entertaining, especially since it is not warm here by any means and the students were half dressed running through a waist-deep body of water for fun! But I guess you have to do what you have to do when tradition is involved.

Mirror Lake...it was getting cleaned since it was quite the party Tuesday night apparently.

After finding the pond, I began looping back and came upon the Quad. It was a pretty expansive area with a great view of the library.

After finishing my run, I headed over to take a picture of Brutus the Buckeye outside the ROTC building. Don’t get me wrong, he’s just a nut but it was kind of cool to see him in a couple different places in different outfits.

ROTC Brutus

It was around the time I took this photo that I finally caught on to another possible tradition the Buckeyes have prior to the football game with Michigan. On my run around campus, I noticed a ton of letters with red tape across them. I passed the below sign and realized someone (or multiple someones) had gone around campus and covered/crossed out every letter “M”. Pretty creative!

Gotta love all the little red pieces of tape!

That’s all from Columbus. I’ll be back at you with my first ever “Thankful Thursday” tomorrow.

In other news related to my blogging, I’m also planning to start participating in WIAW – What I Ate Wednesday.  Like the creator, I feel this will be a great way to reflect on my personal eating habits, help me continue to work towards some goals, share and find new recipes and connect with other bloggers who also participate.

Hope you’re all having a wonderful week and I leave you with a quote I found on the Jesse Owens Memorial outside The Horseshoe.

Quote for the Day: “Everyone must have a goal or dream to strive for. Here are the four things you have to do in order to achieve your goal. First is your determination to be able to reach your dream. Second, you have to have dedication. Then come self-discipline and sacrifice. And lastly is the attitude with which you assume your quest.”

I'd love to hear from you!

