Sunday Run Day

Standard

The weekend is finally coming to a close ūüė¶ It’s been a busy day. I ran errands this morning, did some work, got in a run, went to coach’s house for the Women’s Volleyball Selection Show and then did more work. I’m now baking a cake and hoping to crawl into bed soon after.

I hinted at this in a previous post, but another blog series I want to start is, “Sunday Run Day”.

This will be a way to share at least one of my weekly runs. Sunday is a pretty consistent running day for me, but if I don’t manage to run on Sunday, I’ll at least share one of the other runs I did during the week.

Today I met up with two fellow TFCers for a run along the bike path. The bike path begins at Spring Creek park in Houserville and travels all the way to the Boalsburg Military Museum. Instead of starting at the Spring Creek Park, we parked at Slab Cabin Park, which is about 1.5 miles away from the start. I thought I was heading out for maybe a three mile jaunt, but it ended up being five miles. We followed the path to Atherton before turning around and heading back to Slab Cabin. Here’s a link that I hope works to show the route. We took a slower pace, which was perfect since I’m a bit under the weather.

I love the bike path. It’s safe and traffic free, it passes through a couple parks and¬†it has great views of Mt. Nittany and other parts of the valley. It’s also great because you can park at a variety of spots along the route if you only want to do a certain portion of the path¬†or a specific distance. The path also has its challenges. If you park at Spring Creek or Slab Cabin, it’s almost entirely uphill until you reach the neighborhood that takes you to Atherton. While most of it is a gradual uphill, there are two steep and long stretches that challenge even the strongest individual. However, on the way back, at least for this particular route,¬†we only had one tough uphill and the rest was¬†downhill.

The weather was perfect for a Fall run. It was overcast, cool and on the way back it started to sprinkle so it was like we had our own personal misting fans keeping us cool.

I’m going to call it a night, but hope you all had one final enjoyable day off before heading back to work tomorrow.

Quote for the Day: “In running, it doesn’t matter whether you come in first, in the middle of the pack, or last. You can say, ‘I have finished.’ There is a lot of satisfaction in that.” -Fred Lebow, New York City Marathon co-founder

I'd love to hear from you!

