WIAW

Standard

I’m back to close out the day with my first WIAW post.

Hopefully they’ll get better over time as today there aren’t any pictures. I’ll explain.

This morning began with a department workshop where we were provided breakfast. It was an interesting assortment of foods, most of which weren’t all that healthy. Ok, who am I kidding, there was only one healthy item in the buffet. I settled for a muffin and a nice bowl of fruit. My snacks for the day included an apple and red grapes. I postponed lunch until about 3 p.m. when I stopped at a local eatery called Fresh Harvest. I ordered their Tuscan Chicken Salad. It was quite good. It was a spring mix with onions, green peppers, cucumbers, tomatos and grilled chicken. I had a yummy light balsamic vinaigrette for the dressing.

Our workshop was held on the top floor in the suites at Beaver Stadium. I had never been up there before, but the views were spectacular. There were floor-to-ceiling windows and lots of places to lounge. I don’t know if I would want to watch a game up there though. Even though the windows over the field open up, it just had this “stuffy” feel. Everything was so nice that I don’t think I’d feel ok going to a game in jeans and a hoodie. I now understand why most people I have ever seen heading into the suites have on khakis with sweaters tied around their shoulders and nice loafers. While it’d be great if the weather was bad, I don’t know if it would be my prefered seating area. It was nice though.

Despite all that, the view of the field was spectacular. We were a slight bit higher than if we were in the pressbox, but the view was just as good.

The workshop took about two hours. After, the clamor for the elevators began. However, it gave me a moment to check out a different view from way up.

 

All of the windows have Nittany Lion decals (or maybe they’re etched into the glass…who knows) on them. This one happened to frame beautiful Mt. Nittany perfectly with Medlar field just below. Minus the glare and the fact it was taken with my cell phone, it’s a pretty neat photo.

I’m off to finish proofing postgame quotes and then it’s home to bed. It’s been a long day!

I'd love to hear from you!

