You Know You’re in Kentucky When…

Standard

It’s Day Two in Lexington! We have practice at 11 and play UCLA at 5 p.m. Cross your fingers!

I spent last night out with the media relations reps from the other three schools, plus a few other people. We went to a local restaurant/bar called Drake’s. I decided to try the local brews and had Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale. All of their beers came in a variety of sizes ranging from 12 oz to a beer tower. However, the bourbon ale came in a 10 oz glass. It was really good, but one you can only have one of and you drink it slowly. After I tried the Kentucky Ale, which was good but not my favorite of the two. It was nice to get out and chill for a bit and it was worth missing out on a few hours of extra sleep.

I definitely have to share some pictures with you from our hotel. Horse racing, as you may know, is huge in Kentucky. Whenever you’re near a TV, there always seems to be a horse race being shown. Our hotel, the Hilton Suites at Lexington Green, definitely used horse racing as its decorating theme. I had to take some pictures to give you an idea of how big and important horse racing is here.

This lil' fellow greeted us when we got off the bus at the hotel.

This piece of artwork hung on the wall behind the front desk.

One of two murals in the lobby.

So if there was any question about where we were, the themed decor certainly made it obvious.

The team has a one hour, closed practice this morning. I took the time to take some pictures of the facility and visit the bookstore at the student union.

Memorial Coliseum...it's no Rec Hall, but still pretty cool.

They have quite a bit of basketball history here. This is one side of the front entrance to the coaches offices.

Other side of the entry hallway.

Outside the basketball practice gym.

Enough about my trip… In other news I am super excited to be traveling to Boston, Jan. 13-16 for a girls weekend! We’re staying in the Boston Park Plaza, which looks beautiful. It’ll be a lot of fun, plus it’s my birthday weekend. I think we’re going to celebrate the winter birthdays, as well as sightsee and other fun things. I haven’t been to Boston since high school, so I’m definitely looking forward to going back especially with the crew.

Well practice is almost over so I need to wrap things up. Hope you’ve all had a great week and enjoy your weekend!

Quote for the Day: “We must be willing to let go of the life we had planned, so as to have the life that is waiting for us.” – Joseph Campbell

One thought on “You Know You’re in Kentucky When…

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    That quote is strangely SO applicable to my current situation! I need to write it on my hand or something as a constant reminder haha

    I’m glad you had a great trip!

I'd love to hear from you!

