WIAW and Workout Wednesday

Standard

Hey everyone!

It’s time for…

Check out all the WIAW entries from other bloggers around the blogosphere @Peas & Crayons.

Six a.m. did not come soon enough this morning. I’ve been hitting the 6:30 a.m. Boot Camp (BC) this morning as it’s Girl’s Night Out (GNO) with some friends from the gym. Normally 6 a.m. comes way too early, hence why I tend to go to the 5:45 p.m. BC. But I woke up twice last night and that just makes the night seem way longer. At 3 a.m. I was wishing it was 6.

This week has been an adventure with me hitting the morning class twice and possibly once more. I could’ve just skipped, right? WRONG! It’s Holday Party week so those workouts are coming in handy as the holiday goodies are plentiful.

Before hitting BC, I snacked on a banana (it was not quite ripe enough, but you do what you have to do) and a clementine. I’m very glad I ate as the workout was tough (as usual) and I don’t know if an empty stomach would’ve been ideal. I returned home to try something new and something old.

Something new:

Second attempt using almond milk...

Something old:

Love my english muffins and peanut butter!

I feel like I should continue on with, “Something borrowed, something blue.” However, I will refrain.

So like I said, this was my second attempt with almond milk and it was far more successful than the first time. I forget what brand I had originally bought, but it was really thick and just not my thing. Blue Diamond’s was a normal consistency and tasted pretty good. I was able to drink it just like I would regular milk, although I didn’t find it nearly as refreshing.

In the past few years I’ve really branched out in terms of what foods I like. I always make the effort to try just about anything once even if I don’t end up liking it. At least I tried, right? While in Syracuse, I tried hummus for the first time at a local Middle Eastern restaurant. It was really good. Wegman’s and Giant both carry the brand below. The brand comes in a variety of flavors and is great with veggies, flatbreads and just about anything else. It was part of my lunch.

Mmmmm!

After a long day at work I headed to the American Ale House for my Girl’s Night Out. It ended up being six of us from the gym and a ton of fun. I tried a cauliflower and pickled pepper soup and amazingly I liked it. For my main dish I had their Filet Mignon Salad. It’s a base of gourmet greens with pine nuts, gorgonzola, red onions and a red wine vinaigrette…and let’s not forget the filet. It’s always good and it didn’t let me down this time. It was too dark in the restaurant, otherwise I would’ve taken a picture. You really can’t go wrong with any of their food.

I also have to close this post with a link to Tara Sabo’s Workout Wednesday post, which you can find here. Today she’s targeting the “Little Guys” that often get forgotten as we’re so concerned with the muscles we know the most about like our biceps, triceps, abs and quads. I learned the hard way that one of the many of those small muscles, when weak, can contribute to larger problems. In my case, weak ankles contributed to my shin splints. Strengthening those muscles, along with a lot of stretching made a huge difference for me. The best part about the exercises she listed is that almost all are easy and quick to do and can be done at home or even at your desk at work making it hard to make an excuse to not get a mini workout in wherever you are.

Hope you’re all having a great week!

Quote for the Day: “At any given moment, you have the power to say this is not how the story is going to end. Choose your own adventure.”

I'd love to hear from you!

