It’s March! Here We Go!

Standard

I keep looking through my planner wondering how in the world I’m going to get through this month. I’m heading into my second straight weekend of work and by the time I reach March 18, I will have worked 26 straight days with no break. I probably won’t have a break there either. It’s simply my first anticipated day off. Oh well, just makes me look forward to May that much more.

I ended February the right way. On Sunday I went on a run with the my friends, the Hesserts, beginning at Spring Creek Park and heading to Boalsburg and back. It’s a little over 10 miles and has some good challenging hills. Not only did I run each hill, I ran the entire thing without a break. It’s the first time I’ve hit double-digits since Tough Mudder, which was 11.5.

After the run I decided to make use of a SpaFinder.com gift card Monday at the Lisa Robin Med Spa here in State College. They have a deal for a $49 one-hour massage for first time clients, so that combined with the giftcard made it a great deal. The massage was a great way to end my Monday, start my week and end February. On Tuesday, Gabe and I attended a performance of the Broadway show American Idiot at Eisenhower Auditorium. It was quite good. It’s depressing in a few parts, but overall I’d highly recommend it. The music is great and the cast was very talented.

So for the past two weeks we’ve been dealing with blasting twice a day while at work. Across the street from the BJC, the construction for the Pegulla Ice Arena has begun. Obviously since this is PA, there’s rock and earth to get through, hence the blasting. Once in the morning and once in the afternoon they set off the charges. The blasts this week haven’t been too big, but they certainly were the first week. I’d liken them to an extremely short earthquake. You hear it and feel it. It makes me wonder if people in earthquake prone areas ever get used to such things. It’s been two weeks and each time it makes me jump a little. It’s definitely an unsettling feeling, but it’s become something that’s also quite funny in the office.

Before closing out the post, I wanted to share with you all that I’m currently in the process of applying to some online grad programs. I’ve decided to pursue the online route because I don’t feel I can justify giving up a job and benefits to go back to school, especially with the economy the way it is right now. I’ve found some reputable programs through reputable universities, and I think they’ll offer me some great coursework and a chance to grow professionally. Hopefully all goes well with the application process and down the road.

With that said, I’ll leave you with this graphic and quote. Have a great Friday and weekend, everyone!

3 thoughts on “It’s March! Here We Go!

  1. Jen

    I am always amazing by the miles you log – you are crazy Susan! So jealous of you! Good luck with the grad school process! Keep us posted!

I'd love to hear from you!

