11 Things

Standard

Remember those “surveys” we all used to send each other via e-mail and fill out with random facts about ourselves? Well those are pretty common in the blogosphere. You fill out the survey and then tag some of your favorite blogs and hope they do the same. I recently read one called “11 Things” on A Daily Dose of Fit. This is one of the blogs I read every time she posts. She broke the rules of the survey, and so I decided to do the same. I thought it’d just be fun to answer some questions, even if it’s just so I can put my thoughts and feelings into words. Hope you enjoy!

1. What is your favorite animal?

That’s a tough one only because I have quite a few. Here’s my list and it’s by no means complete. Penguins, bears (we’re talking all types of bears, pandas, brown bears, grizzlies, polar bears, etc), dogs, wolverines (ok, I know this is the Michigan mascot, but have you seen these fuzzy critters? They’re insanely cute, playful and impressive in their wild habitat!) and we’ll say beluga whales. Like I said, I could add many more. I don’t know how people pick just one.

I had to use this photo!

2. Who would you go to lunch with if it could be anyone (dead or alive)?

Another tough one, but I’d have to pick both sets of my grandparents. I was blessed to have them as part of my life for as long as I did, but it was still too short of a time to learn all that I wish I had. My mom’s parents were first generation Americans, both born to slovak parents. My grandma was one of 11 and became a nurse. My Pap lost his dad when he was young after he was killed at the factory he worked at outside Pittsburgh. Pap grew up to work at PPG. My grandmother secretly married him so she could continue working as a nurse for a time. Pap went on to fight in WWII, serving in the Navy on a munitions ship in the Pacific after Pearl Harbor.

My dad’s parents, Grammie and Granddaddy, as they were called lived in Monroeville, Pa. while my dad was growing up. They retired to South Carolina before I was born. My Grammie was married once before my Granddaddy, but divorced (a no-no as a Catholic) and went on to marry my Methodist grandfather. She lost touch with her family for awhile because of it, but eventually the fences were mended. My Granddaddy was Charles Wesley Bedsworth Jr. (my dad is the III and my brother is the IV). He also served in WWII, but in the army where he was in charge of many men. He was in Europe and saw some of the worst parts of the war, things he would never talk about. One of the few times he spoke of the war was when he gave me a tin box containing medals. One was a Nazi medal with a swastika. I asked why he would have such a thing and his response was simply, “Let’s just say the soldier didn’t need it anymore.”

One of my last photos with Granddaddy, Summer 2009

If I could have lunch with the four of them, there are so many things I would ask. Maybe they would answer them, maybe not, but at least I would have asked. I miss them a great deal, but cherish the time I did have with them and all that I learned.

3. What kind of music do you prefer to workout with, or do you not listen to music at all?

At the gym, the trainers keep a station on Pandora playing. It varies greatly depending on the day, the trainer and how creative Pandora feels like being. When I run I listen to everything from Linkin Park to Evanescence to Glee. Whatever keeps me going!

4. What is the best vacation you’ve had so far?

I think a lot of people would expect me to say Hawaii for this. However, since that wasn’t a vacation I am excluding it from this. I can’t really narrow it down to just one specific vacation or place. Ever since I was born our family takes a trip to Litchfield, S.C. That is where my grandparents lived. It’s quiet with a nearby state park and there’s no boardwalk, crazy highrise buildings, etc. It’s relaxing and I even enjoy the fact that my cell phone barely gets signal.

The other place I would pick would be Colorado. I not only have family there, but it’s an absolutely beautiful place all year round. Can’t go wrong with more than 300 days of sunshine a year!

Garden of the Gods in Colorado Springs, Colo.

5. What do you hope to accomplish within the next year?

Wow, where to start? I’ll keep it simple though for this and say that I hope to get into grad school and have a successful start with that. I hope I continue to stay fit, active and injury free and complete some races, including a half marathon in just a few weeks. I hope to improve my correspondance with my family and friends. I used to be so good about sending cards for holidays and birthdays and I’ve fallen away from doing that so I hope to get back to it. Another thing is I hope to continue cooking  and baking and learning new recipes, techniques, etc. There’s plenty more, but we’ll stick with those for now.

6. Who do you trust and turn to for advice and a shoulder to lean on?

There are a couple people. In no particular order I’d say my parents, some of my closest girl friends and my boyfriend, Gabe. They all do a wonderful job and mean the world to me.

7. Favorite kind of flower?

I have a couple…no shocker there. I love sunflowers and black-eyed Susans, but what girl doesn’t love roses?!?

8. Best gift you’ve ever received.
These questions seriously can have so many answers. I feel like I’ve received so many wonderful gifts that picking just one would be ridiculously difficult. However, in order to do so I’m going to limit it to within the last year. I think I’d have to go with my Valentine’s trip to NYC with Gabe in February. He planned the entire day and most of it was a surprise. You can read more about it here. It was really special and a day I’ll never forget.
9. Favorite holiday.
I love Christmas. Always have and always will. There’s nothing more special than going to church and listening to my mom play the organ and piano and direct her wonderful choirs. She puts an incredible amount of time and hard work into what she does and it shows. I also love that we always see some of our extended family and continue many of the old family traditions from my grandparents and great grandparents. Things have changed a great deal since I was little with my grandparents now being gone and my cousins having families of their own and living all over. Despite all that, I see new traditions and experiences beginning as my brother and I are starting to make our way in the world both professionally and personally. I love our quiet Christmases right now and know they won’t always be that way.
10. Have you ever tried yoga? Do you like it?
I love yoga. I used to do it a lot in college. There was a great Sunday night class and it was the perfect way to relax before another week began. I’m hoping to get back into it very soon, knowing it will help with stress and fitness.
11. What would you do with a million dollars?
Stretch it as far as it could possibly go. First, I’d pay off my student loans and any debt. Then I’d probably set a significant chunk aside for the future, be it for a house and/or college for my future kids. Who knows? I’d also probably have to take some and buy some frivolous things like shoes! A girl can never have enough shoes!  I would also try and travel quite a bit, all over the U.S. and hopefully abroad.
Well that’s all for now. Hope you all had a wonderful Saint Patrick’s Day! I drove past the LSU campus today and wow was it insane. The place was trashed from the parade and the sheer number of people on the streets was crazy. An experience, I’m sure.
One thought on “11 Things

I'd love to hear from you!

