Foodie Pen Pals May!

Standard

For the second time I participated in the Foodie Pen Pal program started by Lindsay from The Lean Green Bean. Each month Lindsay spearheads this program where she matches up registered participants, bloggers and non-bloggers, to send each other a box of tasty products. You supposed to spend $15 so it isn’t too expensive to participate. While I’ll be taking a two-month break to enjoy summer and concentrate on work, I’ll be diving back into this program head first in August.

This month I was paired with Christie from Roller Koester Run! She was super great to shop for and we actually had some favorites in common like dried fruits and dark chocolate. Christie also used to work in the Big Ten so it was awesome to chat about our love for the B1G! This past month, Christie has been providing her followers with a new circuit training workout every day. I’ve since started reading her blog daily, as well as following her on Pinterest and saved some of her circuit workouts for future use. Check it out!

My box this month came from Kasandra at Running Long Island NYC. Before I even start, I must send a big thank you to Kasandra for the awesome box. I asked her to keep it more on the healthy side, which she did, but she also clearly is a girl after my own heart and threw in a nice treat too! So here goes!

These are the perfect cracker. Low fat, no cholesterol and have the “crunch” we all crave. I love crackers, but never buy them because a. I can’t stop at just a couple and b. I never have much luck finding ones that are made with real ingredients or are the consistency, crunch and flavor I’m looking for. These, however, turned out to be quite good and even better with the spread below.

First of all, again I LOVE Trader Joe’s, so this item was already a winner. Second, I figured Fig Butter, which doesn’t actually have butter in it, had to remind me of Fig Newtons. I thoroughly enjoy Fig Newtons. I was right. It’s quite yummy and makes a great spread for the crackers, toast, english muffins, etc.

This was the perfect breakfast bar this morning. Since I haven’t been able to hit the grocery store for a full shopping trip, my food selection is quite low. I actually just finished the granola I received from my April Foodie Pen Pal and seriously need Trader Joe’s here in State College to open so I can get more. I digress… Kasandra included two Luna Bars, this one and a Lemon Zest, as well as a bar by 18 Rabbits called Nibblin’ Apricot. These are perfect when I’m on the go, like this morning.

Apple rings….so good. Already had a nice snack of these this morning! These would make a perfect snack on a road trip and since I am attending the wedding of my dear friends Melissa and Andrew this weekend, I think they’ll be going along for the ride!

I have to say that anything with chocolate is a treat, but I mean edamame is a veggie and it has protein. So ok it’s probably still a treat, but it’s a very healthy and VERY yummy one!

Finally, the big treat!

This chocolate bar really is big, but I can’t wait to try it. I love something a bit crunchy in my chocolate bars so the pecans will be perfect!

Here’s more info about the Foodie Pen Pals program if you want to try it sometime.

-On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.

-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal! 

-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!

-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)

-Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you are to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month.

-Foodie Penplas is open to US & Canadian residents.  Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa.

If you’re interested in participating for June, please CLICK HERE to fill out the participation form and read the terms and conditions.

You must submit your information by June 4th as pairings will be emailed on June 5th! You will receive a confirmation email from me within 24 hours if you sign up. IF YOU DON’T GET ONE, contact Lindsay!

Well that’s all for today, but hopefully I’ll be back at you soon. I’ve had some blog topics I want to tackle sitting here waiting to be used so look for a new one soon, plus I can’t wait to share how wonderful Melissa’s wedding was!

2 thoughts on “Foodie Pen Pals May!

I'd love to hear from you!

