Five A.M. Sure Comes Early

Standard

Headed to my first outdoor boot camp this morning at the State College Community Tennis Courts off Atherton St. near Hamilton Ave. Let’s just say my alarm going off at 5 a.m. wasn’t exactly music to my ears, but I managed to get up, have a small snack for some fuel and get to the courts on time. What I think I’ll enjoy about doing the outdoor boot camp twice a week is having my evenings a little more free, doing a bit more cardio and more body weight exercises and getting some more time outside in the summer. Obviously being outside limits the kinds of equipment the trainers can bring with them, but don’t think for a minute that the workout is any easier. Here’s what we did today.

Circuit #1 (4x thru)

Shuttle Run (down and back across two courts)
Burpees x 8
Pushups x 8

Circuit #2 (4x thru)

Walking lunges (down and back across two courts)
Overhead Press with bands x 8
Mountain Jacks x 8

Circuit #3 (4x thru)

Situps x 20
Run (loop around three courts)
Bicep Curls with bands x 20

Circuit #4 (3x thru)

Reverse Lunges x 20 (10 each leg)
Jumping Jacks x 50
Crossover Reach x 20 (10 each leg)

Circuit #5 (3x thru)

Jump Squats x 20
T-rotations x 20 (10 each side)
Skaters x 20 (10 each side)

You could mix up the order of each circuit to adjust for band availability or just what you preferred to do first. The bands were all different strengths so you could choose based on your ability or desired level of resistance. It started to rain a little early on, but stopped and held off until I went into work later. Overall it was a good start to my day and I think I’ll enjoy the change up. The whole workout takes about an hour if you include 5 minutes of warmup and 5 minutes of stretching at the end, water breaks after two circuits were completed and just any extra time you might have had while waiting for others to finish each circuit.

I’m off to Harrisburg this evening as I’m taking the GRE tomorrow morning. I’m crashing at my friend Emily’s place. It’ll be great to see her and meet her golden puppy, Nittany! You bet I’ll be taking pics of the fluff ball!

I'd love to hear from you!

