10 Running Related Personal Questions

Standard

Hello! Whoo it’s been awhile, but hopefully I’m back and ready to get going with posting. One of the blogs I follow, Roller Koester Run, did a post yesterday called 10 Running Related Personal Questions. I thought it might be fun so here goes!

1. Best Run Ever: This is tough because I’ve done a lot of great runs from special events to just nice runs with friends. Although it’s not entirely a run, my favorite has to be Tough Mudder. It was 11 miles of obstacles, running, mud, water…you name it and it was probably included. I did it as part of a team with my gym and it was hard, but a lot of fun. Definitely had a few scrapes and bruises, but honestly the sense of accomplishment after completing it was just awesome. I was really bummed this past spring that I couldn’t do it again, but I’m already signed up for the one in June 2013!

2. Three words that describe my running: Competitive (mostly with myself), sweaty for sure and fun. I like to work hard when I’m working out be it at the gym or on the road/trail running. I don’t think our battle to continue working hard is with our bodies, well at least for a lot of people. I know for me, I battle with my mind. My body will do what my mind tells it to do. Unless I know I’m going to injure myself, I’ll keep running or pushing myself in a workout because I can do it and because that’s how you get stronger.

3. My go-to running outfit is: In the summer it’s definitely a pair of nike shorts and an under armour t-shirt. I never wear regular cotton t-shirts anymore. They’re too heavy and just absorb moisture. For shorter runs I’ll wear one of my running skirts. I’m currently obsessed with this one from Lululemon. I’ve wanted it for ages and finally bought it. In the winter I love my Saucony running pants and any of my long sleeve running tops. I do like ones in bright colors especially for lowlight conditions.


4. Quirky habit while running: I’m not sure I have any. In regards to habits, I make an effort to always stretch my calves. A loss in flexibility has caused issues for me in the past so I try to remember to do that before and after my runs and workouts.

5. Morning, midday or evening: I don’t think I have a preference, but it works out that I run mostly in the evenings after work. Morning runs usually happen on the weekends. When I’m traveling, it’s whenever I can squeeze it in. More often than not, it’s when the team is practicing. I use the time to check out the campus. Two of my favorite campuses are Michigan State and Illinois.

6. I won’t run outside when it’s: Extremely hot. I don’t feel I handle the heat well, even if I’m hydrated. I don’t mind the cold since I end up getting warm as I run.

7. Worst injury and how I got over it: I’d have to say my shin splints are the worst. It’s a really common running injury. I’ve tried custom insoles, new shoes,  rest, ice, and the list goes on and on. I finally ended up doing about 2-3 months of twice weekly physical therapy to work on flexibility in my calves and ankle strength. While I’d rather not do that again as it gets expensive fast, it helped because the pain went away and I learned a lot about how to manage them. Shin splints don’t “go away”. I’ve struggled with them since I was a dancer. When they act up it’s usually a sign I need to rest, concentrate on my stretching and even get some new shoes. I do sometimes utilize KT Tape and even if it’s only a mental thing, if I apply it correctly sometimes the pain relief is almost immediate.

8. I felt most like a badass mother runner when: I ran my first half. I honestly didn’t think I would ever be able to do one. Due to injury, my work schedule, whatever. I did one in March and it was perfect. It was outside Pittsburgh in a big park, it was a mostly flat course with a couple rolling hills, it was a chilly day and the max amount of runnings was 3,200. I was able to pace myself, not worry about getting tripped or tripping someone else and just enjoy the overall experience. I beat the goal I set for myself and would definitely love to do another.

Haha I’m a bit gross, but definitely happy I completed my first half back in March.

9. Next race is: I signed up for the Free to Breathe Lung Cancer 5k on Sept. 23. My friend, Michel, is doing it too and it’s at a local park. I think it’ll be a nice, small race on a great fall day. I might line up a couple more fall 5ks soon!

10. Potential running goal for 2013: I just want to be as injury-free as possible and enjoy it. Yeah it’s a form of exercise, but that doesn’t mean it can’t be fun. I hope to do another half (maybe even before 2013) and I can’t forget about Tough Mudder!

That’s all for now! Have a great rest of the week!

3 thoughts on “10 Running Related Personal Questions

  1. I LOVED reading your responses- they’re great! I have the same Lulu skirt and love it, but have to save it for very short distances (or else I get chub rub- haha!).
    I completely agree on the MSU and Illini campuses. My sister and her husband both work for State, so i’ve run around there a ton. My husband actual played baseball at Illinois, so when I would visit I would venture out and about around campus.
    I didn’t realize the Tough Mudder runs were so long! Most of the adventure runs are closer to 5K or 10K distance, so I am quite intrigued to hear that there is one closer to 13.1- what a challenge!

    • It’s such a small world that we’ve both run in two places so far away! I always look forward to those two campuses. I actually had a nice fall at Illinois on an uneven sidewalk. The team was at Huff Hall practicing and I was off campus in the historic area of town and tripped and landed on my knees. I was so embarrassed I just hopped back up and kept running the two miles back to the gym. I got there and looked at my knees, which I didn’t realize were bleeding until then. I sheepishly had to go ask the team trainer to patch me up! Too funny!

  2. Zetta Guffy

    Running is a fun sport – seriously. Each day, people all over the world partake in the sport. Some run on the track. Others run in their neighborhood. People run in trails and even on the treadmill. No matter where you run or how often you do it, chances are you are either at risk for injury or you have at some point dealt with an injury.Injuries can be frustrating. For most people, this means that some time needs to be spent away from the sport. For someone who loves it, this is not an easy task. But it is important to note that the easiest and quickest way to heal a running injury is to stop running.:

    Make sure you visit our new homepage as well
    <http://www.foodsupplementcenter.com/neuropathy-support-formula/

I'd love to hear from you!

