Another Weekend on the Road

Standard

I’m back on the road for yet another women’s volleyball trip. This time I’m in Evanston, Ill. at Northwestern. Tonight after our match we’ll fly down to Champaign to play Illinois tomorrow. It’s really cold. Well actually it’s in the 50s, which isn’t actually that cold, but compared to the high 70s I’ve become accustomed to, it’s quite cool. I didn’t exactly pack for cold weather, but whatever.

After the assistant coach mentioned that Lake Michigan was a few blocks from the arena, I decided I would run there during practice today. It’s a shorter run than I thought, 1.7 miles round trip, so I ended up making it longer. One thing I noticed on Google Maps was the Grosse Point Lighthouse. I enjoy lighthouses so since it was on the route, I decided to stop by. The grounds are open all the time and it sits just off the beach.

Evanston is rather flat as I’m sure you can imagine so it didn’t take long to reach the lighthouse and the shores of Lake Michigan. It was really nice and I wish I had bothered to notice how close I’d been on the last three trips I’ve made here.

Grosse Point Lighthouse from the street.

I headed through the grounds and on to the beach. I was actually surprised there were small waves, but then again it’s a massive lake as opposed to the little “ponds” I’m used to being around.

The lighthouse from the beach.

After spending some time on the beach, I continued my run towards campus and ended up doing a 3.6 mile loop by the time I got back to the gym. I was surprised by the size of the Northwestern campus. For some reason I thought it would be smaller. The architecture was really awesome and there was a ton of character in almost every building.

I loved the Evanston neighborhoods. The homes were unique, well-kept and the same goes for all of the condo/apartment buildings. There were practically no high-rises and most were brick with lots of green space.

The run definitely put me in a good mood, which I was hoping would last for the rest of the day. While someone managed to put a damper on it, some really great people in my life helped right the ship and it came right back. Can’t say how thankful I am that there are so many people in my life who care about me.

Before I go, I want to wish my dear friend Lauren good luck on her marathon in San Francisco soon. Lauren, you’re amazing and I know you’re going to kick some major ass. Have fun, be safe and live it up!

I'd love to hear from you!

