Foodie Pen Pal: October Reveal

Standard

This is a day late, but better late than never right?

Time to reveal my Foodie Pen Pal items for the month of October! I received a package from Amy Green who lives in Maine. It was her first time and she did a great job. She even shared some neat fun facts about Maine. Thanks, Amy!

I asked Amy to send me things that I couldn’t find where I lived. She didn’t disappoint. Here’s what was in the box:

* B&M Brown Bread Raisin

* B&M Baked Beans

* Strawberry Rhubarb Jam

* A pumpkin whoopie pie

* Sweet Mango Salsa

I’m very curious about this bread in a can thing. I’ve never heard of such a thing. I haven’t opened it yet, but was reading preparation instructions and you can butter it, put peanut butter on it, jam or even make a sandwich with the baked beans. I like to try new things so I’ll let you know how that goes.

Obviously the whoopie pie (or Gob if you’re from PA) is a winner! They’re so good. I also love mango salsa! I got to make strawberry rhubarb jam earlier this fall and it was delicious, so I know I’ll love the new jar. Thanks again, Amy, for putting together a great box!

If you’d like more information or are interested in participating in a Foodie Pen Pal exchange, please visit The Lean Green Bean.

As many of you know and dealt with, Hurricane Sandy came flying through the mid-atlantic and northeast earlier this week. In fact, it’s still raining here! I have to say, the weather people certainly had me worried. While that turned out to be an exageration here in State College, it certainly wasn’t all along the coast from North Carolina to Rhode Island and Massachusetts. The devastation along the eastern seaboard is immense and it’s hard to believe it was only a Category 1 storm. The devastation looks eerily similar to the havoc Category¬†4 Hurricane Hugo wreaked along the South Carolina coast back in 1989. It’ll be a long time before things are cleaned up and the rebuilding can begin, but people are already back and starting the process. It’s amazing what wind and water can do.

Meanwhile here in State College, very few people lost power or had any damage. Penn State closed on Monday at 1 pm, but the damaging winds never really materialized. There were strong gusts and our airport did close, but that was about it. I woke up Tuesday morning and looked out my window to see this.

There’s grass under there somewhere!

I’m thankful we were spared the worst. I know millions of others were so lucky. My thoughts and prayers are with them all.

Hope you all are having a wonderful fall and welcome to November! Only 55 days until Christmas!

I'd love to hear from you!

