Cooking Under Pressure

Standard

Last night I decided to break out my grammie’s pressure cooker and attempt our family beef stew recipe. I’ve had this crock pot for quite some time, as well as the recipe, but was seriously terrified of using the pressure cooker. I mean it’s literally cooking under pressure. Thankfully my mom talked my through the experience via phone and Gabe was present to make sure I didn’t blow up the kitchen (and myself!).

I thought I’d share the recipe with you all. It’s quite delicious and the recipe really is quite easy, even using the pressure cooker.

Ingredients:

1 lb beef cubes
4 small potatoes
1 1/4 cup water (or beef stock)
1/4 cup ketchup
1 large yellow onion
4 carrots sliced (you can also use baby carrots sliced)
green beans (as many as you’d like)
Salt and Pepper
1 tomato

Directions:

1. Spray the pressure cooker with pam and pour a small amount of oil in bottom. Heat on medium high and start browning the meat.

2. Add onions and tomato. Stir constantly to prevent meet from scorching. Add salt and pepper to your liking.

3. Add 1 cup of water (beef broth).

4. Add potatoes, carrots and green beans.

5. Mix 1/4 cup water (beef broth) and 1/4 cup ketchup and pour over stew.

6. Put on lid making sure it locks into place. Add pressure beacon (aka pressurizer) to top of pot and make sure the rubber stopper is pushed in.

7. After a few minutes as the pressure begins to build the pressurizer will begin to rock and make a hissing noise. When that starts, the stew needs to cook for 10-12 minutes on media high heat.

8. After 10-12 minutes (I compromised at 11 minutes), remove the pot from the stove and put in the sink. DO NOT OPEN IT! Let cold water run over the lid. This reduces the pressure and makes it safe to open.

9. Pour the stew into a bowl and serve. ENJOY!

Watching the crock pot and the pressurizer rock. I was still afraid something was going to blow at this point!

Watching the crock pot and the pressurizer rock. I was still afraid something was going to blow at this point!

It turned out really well. Sadly I didn’t think to take a picture, but I promise it was good. Gabe had the leftovers for lunch and said it was even better the day after. I think next time we might experiment with some other vegetables.

My greatest fear was obviously blowing something up. Apparently my great aunt used to open hers before relieving the pressure and there would be green beans on the ceiling. That was probably quite funny to see. My grammie’s crock pot was obviously quite old so a lot of the steam leaked out since I don’t think the ceils on the lid are as good as they used to be. Regardless, it still made a damn good stew.

I better get back to work, but hope you all have a great start to your week!

I'd love to hear from you!

