Apple Sauce that was Almost Apple Soup

Standard

I believe I mentioned in a previous posts that I was hoping to do a lot more cooking and baking these days. So far I’ve followed through. In just the past week I’ve cooked up a chicken dish, stuffed shells and even some fish. This morning I made some waffles for breakfast and they turned out quite delicious if I do say so myself 🙂 I do plan to share the stuffed shells experience with you very soon as it was a big hit! However, first I thought I’d walk you through how to make some homemade apple sauce.

I grew up with both my mom and my grammie making homemade apple sauce. I can remember arriving at my grandparents house for a beach week in South Carolina and eating yummy apple sauce for lunch every day. My mom continues to make it, while my brother also often makes it. I had never tried, but it was on my list of things to make. I am making the effort, slowly but surely, to remove quite a few processed foods from my overall diet. There are a lot of ingredients in foods that aren’t exactly great for our bodies. Store-bought apple sauce is one of those products that has a lot of unnecessary ingredients. You’ll see everything from “natural flavors” to high fructose corn syrup. I had to wonder why those ingredients, among many others, were necessary especially in a food that is naturally sweet or only needs a bit of sugar and cinnamon. I decided that the best way to control what’s in my food is to make it myself. So all that is in my apple sauce are 9.5 Granny Smith apples (peeled, cored and sliced), and brown sugar, cinnamon and regular sugar to my personal taste. I digress and certainly don’t want to get into a debate about food ingredients, but really there are some great perks to making a lot of things at home.

So here we go!

Step 1: Peel, core and slice 9-10 Granny Smith Apples and place into a large cooking pot. As a side note, you do not have to use Granny Smith apples, but I find that a tart apple like the Granny Smith makes a sweeter, more flavorful apple sauce than say a Red Delicious apple.

applesauce2

Step 2: Add no more than 1 cup of water. Basically the water is there to help boil the apples and to keep them from scorching on the bottom of the pot. If you add too much water you will have apple soup, not apple sauce. Put the lid on and boil for about 20 minutes. If you feel there is too much water nearing the end of the 20 minutes, remove the lid and allow the water to boil off (aka evaporate). Stir constantly while cooking to prevent burning. As my mom said, “This is not a recipe where you can just leave the kitchen while it cooks.” I made the mistake of filling the entire pot with water and called my mom asking if my apples should be floating. Turns out I had WAAYYY too much water so I set about draining all and just adding the necessary 1 cup.

applesauce1

applesauce3

Step 3: After the apples have cooked, and you know they are cooked because they are tender and mashable, grab your potato masher and mash them just like you would to make mashed potatoes. If you like a smoother apple sauce, mash until you’re satisfied. I’m ok with a a chunkier apple sauce so my version isn’t quite smooth.

This is also the point where you add cinnamon, brown sugar and regular sugar. Start with a little and add until you’re satisfied with the flavor. I do not have specific measurements as it really depends on what you prefer.

The finished product!

The finished product!

It was Gabe-approved and actually quite tasty, if I do say so myself! A big thanks to my mom and brother for helping via phone and gchat on my first attempt.

Hope you all had a great weekend and I look forward to sharing more kitchen adventures with you soon!

I'd love to hear from you!

