Making Stuffed Shells…Mmm Mmm

Standard

Wow, two posts in the same week! That’s practically unheard of for me. I have to figure out a way to be more consistent with my postings, but it gets so difficult with the demands of work and school. I am still on break from grad school so I have a little more free time when I’m not working to blog.

This time I wanted to share with you another recipe I recently made. This also comes from my mom and it’s a recipe for Stuffed Jumbo Shells. While I’m not a big Italian food lover, I do enjoy some dishes, particularly ones with meat. It’s really all the cheese in Italian (at least the Americanized versions) that does me in since I’m not a huge fan of cheese (crazy, I know!). I do love pasta, although I don’t eat it too often.

Last Christmas (2011) my mom put together a recipe book of various recipes from my great grandmothers, grandmothers, aunts and her. Some are family recipes, while others were shared from magazines, tv and friends, tested and adopted. This is my mom’s take on a recipe I know many families have their own versions of.

Ingredients
1/2 of a 12 oz. pkg. of jumbo shells
1-1.5 lbs of ground beed
1-2 stalks of celery (chopped)
1 garlic clove (minced)
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper
1 large jar spaghetti sauce (32 oz)
2 tbsp. parmesan cheese
1 medium onion (minced)

My helper mincing and chopping!

My helper mincing and chopping!

Directions:
Cook shells, drain and set to cool on a dish or waxed paper.

In a skillet, cook ground beed, celery, onio, garlic, salt and pepper until meat is brown and juice is evaporated. Stir frequently. Revmoe from heat and add about 1/2 the jar of sauce.

shells3

Fill each shell with about 1 tbsp. of the meat mixture.

In baking dish, place sauce on the bottom and add the shells as you fill them. Top shells with remaining sauce. Sprinkle cheese over top. Cover and bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Remove cover and continue baking for 10 more minutes.

The finished product! We added mozzarella cheese to half.

The finished product! We added mozzarella cheese to half.

It’s fairly easy with a relatively short prep time and cooking time. It was a big hit and the leftovers were just as good the next day. Give it a try!

Have a great night!

I'd love to hear from you!

