Mmmmm Chocolate!

Standard

Yesterday I got this craving for chocolate milk. I had already been to the local dairy earlier in the week and had opted for two jugs of skim milk, instead of one skim and one chocolate. I wasn’t about to drive over there to buy another jug. So you might tell me to go buy some Hershey’s syrup and make my own. Trust me, I thought of that and have often almost bought a botte on many occasions at the store. However, as I mentioned in a previous post I am trying to substantially reduce my intake of unhealthy, artificial and unnecessary ingredients. Why? Because I feel a noticeable difference when I remove those items or at least reduce their presence in my food.

So what could be so wrong with chocolate syrup? Lots of things…high fructose corn syrup, red no. 40, which is apparently necessary in their “Lite” version although last time I checked chocolate was brown, and a number of other artificial ingredients. See for yourself.

I then remembered that I had pinned a recipe to make homemade chocolate syrup to one of my Pinterest boards. I looked it up, realized I had all the ingredients on hand and decided my chocolate craving was strong enough to warrant making up a batch. The recipe came from the blog One Good Thing by Jillee, which she shared from a fellow blogger. Now I’m passing it on to you. It’s super easy and fast.

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups sugar
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup water
dash of salt
teaspoon vanilla

Combine the sugar, cocoa powder, salt and water in a small saucepan. Mix and bring to a boil. Stir occasionally. Cook for one minute. Remove from heat, add vanilla (it’s really important you remove the pan from the heat source before adding the vanilla…I didn’t and it instantly bubbled up but thankfully did not create any further problems. I can imagine a higher content of vanilla could be more dangerous!) Cool and store in the refrigerator.

The dry ingredients

The dry ingredients

Waiting for it to boil...

Waiting for it to boil…

Mmm...chocolate milk!

Mmm…chocolate milk!

I made the milk without really waiting for it to cool, but it was just fine and plenty delicious. Jillee has plenty of recipe suggestions on her post about what to do with the syrup if you need more ideas. I noticed this morning when I went to make another cup of milk that the syrup had thickened once cooled. I think it’ll be great on top of ice cream or to help make a shake. Looking forward to trying!

So there you have it. Your own homemade chocolate syrup. Five ingredients and maybe four minutes of your time! Give it a try 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

