Homemade Oreos

Standard

Finally a low key weekend arrived. With working events most weekends, I sometimes forget what it’s like to not have to be somewhere or at least trying to fit in doing event recaps and homework too.

Friday was quiet, but fun. We went to Gabe’s neighbor’s for food and some beer pong. I haven’t played in a long time, but Micah and I managed to win two games, including one against Gabe. I will say I didn’t make a single cup in my game against Gabe, but sank four in the second game.

Saturday I got up and went to a Master’s Class at Ki’netik. It was a good one, which I probably don’t need to say since they’re always good. It was one big circuit with bodyweight cardio moves in between each station. We did the circuit three times.

Afterwards Gabe came over and we attempted making homemade oreos. I found the recipe on Pinterest, but it was originally from Jen at My Kitchen Addiction. Check out her blog!

I’ve wanted to try to make these for awhile and with the weather outside looking like the photo below, Saturday proved the perfect day.

Winter isn't out of here quite yet!

Winter isn’t out of here quite yet!

Below are some photos of the process with the recipe following.

The dough...it's thicker than normal cookie dough in my opinion.

The dough…it’s thicker than normal cookie dough in my opinion.

Half the dough waiting to get wrapped to go in the fridge.

Half the dough waiting to get wrapped to go in the fridge.

Half the dough rolled out to make cutouts.

Half the dough rolled out to make cutouts.

Ready for the oven!

Ready for the oven!

Cookies have to cool before icing.

Cookies have to cool before icing.

A nice plug for Domino. The icing recipe is also delicious!

A nice plug for Domino. The icing recipe is also delicious!

Finished product!

Finished product!

Here’s the recipe!

Cookies:
– 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened.
– 1 cup sugar
– 1 egg
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 2 cups flour
– 3/4 cup dutch process cocoa powder
– 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
– 1 tsp. salt

Combine the butter and sugar in large mixing bowl. Beat until light and fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla and mix.

In a separate bowl, mix the flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt. Gradually add the mixture to the butter and sugar mixture while beating on low. Continue to mix until the flour mixture is incorporated.

Divide the dough in half (yep, get your hands in there!), and shape into two discs. Wrap in plastic and refridgerate until chilled (about 1 hour).

After an hour or so, preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Take one portion of dough out of the fridge and roll out on a lightly floured surface. You’ll want the dough to be 1/8-1/4 inch thick. (Some of my cookies were a bit fatter than others since I’m not quite a pro at using a rolling pin apparently!). I don’t have a round cookie cutter so I used “Spring” ones, a bee, a heart and two different bunnies!

Place cookies on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake for 10-12 minutes. My oven runs hot so I don’t think I ever made it the full time. Let them cool on wire racks while you make the filling.

Filling:

– 1 stick butter, softened
– 2 tbsp. half and half
– 1 tsp. vanilla extract
– pinch of salt
– 3 – 3 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Combined the butter, half and half, vanilla and salt. Mix until combined. Add the powdered sugar gradually.

The original recipe suggests using a piping bag with a round tip. I didn’t have that on hand so I put the icing in a large ziplock bag, pushed it all down to one corner and cut a hole in the bag to squeeze the icing out. It worked perfectly!

They turned out delicious. I’m a big fan because they don’t contain any artificial ingredients or preservatives. It wasn’t as easy as I was hoping, but still relatively simple and definitely fun.

I also have to recommend this recipe for cornbread. I didn’t take photos while making it, but it was a piece of cake! It was also a big hit with Gabe and went nicely with our taco dinner on Sunday.

Thanks to Jen at My Kitchen Addiction for sharing the original oreo recipe! Also want to thank Sarah and Zachary at High Heels and Grills for the cornbread recipe.

I'd love to hear from you!

