Race Recap – Crack O Dawn 5k

Standard

What a great weekend! The weather was hot and sunny, but it’s looking like it might cool down very soon. I’m ok with 70s and low 80s though!

Friday Gabe and I headed to the Village Green in Lemont for the weekly summer concert. We’d never been, but were meeting some friends. The music tends to be Folk, but the young woman on Friday was actually quite good and she had some funny songs. Afterwards, we went to our friends’ home and had some tea. They are Turkish, and while the tea seemed like it was Black Tea, it had a bit more flavor. It was really enjoyable. We all sat outside enjoying the weather, although I was increasingly distracted by e-mails regarding school work.

The Village Green in Lemont

The Village Green in Lemont

Saturday I woke up early and met some friends in Boalsburg for the annual Crack O Dawn 5k. It’s a fun little 5k topped off with a pancake breakfast afterwards. It was a little cooler at the start of the race, and I was able to cut about 30 seconds off my time compared to the previous year. The course takes you around some of the lesser-traveled streets of Boalsburg, but also up two nice hills at opposite ends of the small town. They weren’t as bad as I remembered.

After I headed off to meet my friend Ashley for a bike ride. I recently purchased a new bike. It’s a nice recreational bike for paved road or path. We ended up riding about 10.5 miles around the area, thanks in part to some of the great bike paths we have here. We were starving by the time we were done and met her fiance at Toftrees Golf resort for lunch before lounging by their pool. Oh the perks of having a friend whose fiance is a member! There were definitely some interesting people in attendance though.

Gabe and I went off looking for a hike later in the afternoon, but ultimately ended up at Mt. Nittany. It was a good day for insect viewing and using his new phone, Gabe put together this neat video!

Sunday was another beautiful day. I spent a few hours at the pool (the fun community one) and did some homework. School has been tough this semester. My elective is taking up the bulk of my time and the professor is not the best communicator in the world. It’s imperative to have effective, explicit communication in an online educational environment because you lose many of the advantages of in-person communication. This is my third semester and the first time I’ve run into this so far. We have a semester-long group project and thank goodness for my two awesome group members. My other class is fine and the professor is great. She’s also my advisor and a great resource.

That is all for now. I’m hoping that I start to adjust more quickly to managing a new job (providing new freedoms), school, and life. I think it’s more of a challenge since it’s summer and I want to be off doing things or just relaxing outside and it’s really hard to use a computer in the sun. Hopefully it becomes easier as time goes by!

I'd love to hear from you!

