Is it the weekend yet?

Standard

While this might start out negatively, I promise this post won’t be a repeat of my last one!

I feel like this week has been a waste. I was home sick Monday, worked Tuesday and Wednesday, and took a half day Thursday. I’m finally starting to feel more myself today.The lingering effects of the migraine I hope are on their way out of here to never return.

I’ve missed almost the entire week at the gym. I’m hoping to make it today and get back on course with my half marathon training. I haven’t run since Sunday. It’s Art Fest weekend in State College so I do have the option of running the Arts Fest 5K, 10K, or 10 miler. Obviously the 10 miler is out of the question, but I’ve run the 10K multiple times. We’ll see…maybe I’ll just try the 5k for the first time.

I’m going to try to pull at some heart strings now as I have been helping to feed four orphaned kittens in a barn near Gabe’s lab. Other people have been kindly feeding and providing them with water. Their mom was hit by a car. I contacted Paws, a no-kill shelter in State College that will keep an animal forever if need-be. They’re on the wait list, but who knows if that will work. Paws is such a dedicated organization, but they do have their limits, hence the wait list. I’ve also reached out to Happy Valley Animals in Need today. They’re really cute lil’ guys (not sure if they’re girls or boys), although shy and skeptical at times. I decided to name them after insects since they’re outside one of Penn State’s entomology labs.

This is Firefly because of his black coloring and yellow eyes.

This is Firefly because of his black coloring and yellow eyes.

The light gray one is Ladybug, the first dark gray one is honeybee and the one on the right is Junebug.

The light gray one is Ladybug, the first dark gray one is honeybee and the one on the right is Junebug.

Since we were down to one can of cat food, I went to the store last night and capitalized on Giant’s 20 for $10 Friskies promo. I also bought some treats and a stick with a lil duck on the end to play with them. Last night while three were eating, Honeybee decided to play. It was neat to see his/her instincts kick in and watch the pouncing and playing. Eventually though it was time to eat.

They are friendly, but shy and don’t mind me petting them when they’re eating. I know their instincts will kick in regarding hunting for food, but I really don’t want them to fall prey to cars or predators, or produce more kittens. I’m not in a position to take them in and really know very little about cats. I’m just a softy and want them to be safe and happy. You know you want one!

On another note, anyone up for a plank challenge? A strong core is essential!

plank

I'd love to hear from you!

