A Walk Through a Garden

Standard

Ok, so maybe the word garden is pushing it. It was the Arboretum at Penn State. It is a garden, just a rather large one with more flowers than fruits and plenty of things not native to PA. I had taken a walk to get lunch yesterday and it was such a beautiful that I walked through the Arboretum on my way back to the office. My little walk may have turned out a bit longer than anticipated, but could you blame me when there were things like below to look at?

The lily pond. One of my favorite spots.

The lily pond. One of my favorite spots.

IMG_20130724_112658_019

IMG_20130724_112801_737

IMG_20130724_112744_858

IMG_20130724_112713_051

Loved these!

Loved these!

I was surprised to not see much in the way of insects. I figured it was just a bit too chilly yet for them to be out. Well that was until I walked into the Pollinator Garden!

Pollinator Garden

Pollinator Garden

Surprised this lovely butterfly stayed still long enough for me to snap a photo!

Surprised this lovely butterfly stayed still long enough for me to snap a photo!

Hello Ms. Bumble!

Hello Ms. Bumble!

I was also happy to catch this video!

Not going to lie, when she moved flowers she scared the crap out of me. I didn’t realize there was another flower right in line with my face. It’s neat to watch her forage! You can see her pollen sacs on her hind legs.

My favorite picture of all. The wind was blowing and she was moving, but I was pleasantly surprised to see my phone captured this.

My favorite picture of all. The wind was blowing and she was moving, but I was pleasantly surprised to see my phone captured this.

The Arboretum also boasts grape vines, apple trees (below) and some type of gourds growing on an arced trellis. There weren’t very many gourds at this point, but later on in the summer they hang down from all sides. It’s really neat.

If you’re ever here, make sure to stop by the Arboretum. It’s one of my favorite places on campus and there’s always something new to see. You also forget that you’re near a busy street or even on a college campus, an escape I think most of us here need.

I'd love to hear from you!

