Race Recap: Give ‘Em Five! Run for Veterans 5 Miler

Standard

Wow…it’s been way too long. I’ve certainly missed posting and hope that I’ll be a little more on top of it these next few months. It was suggested that I simply do a post that read, “Grad school.” Would’ve been fair and true. However, I want to hold myself accountable. I started this blog to help keep people up to date on what’s going on, what I’m doing, and other such things. So here’s to keeping this up to date more regularly!

To start, I thought I’d do a race recap of the Give ‘Em Five! Run for Veterans 5 Miler in nearby Bellefonte, Pa. It’s a small, local race that benefits local veterans. What’s nice is that the money these veterans need can reach them in a matter of days, unlike money provided by the government that can take weeks and months to be approved and distributed. I’ve wanted to run this race, but had never made it. Last night I decided to do it and registered when I arrived.

The course, which started at the Bellefonte Area Middle School, took you through a residential area of Bellefonte. It was a nice course with lots to look at while you were running. The course was also quite hilly, but it’s Central Pa. what else should I expect? I actually decided it’d be worth driving out there to run sometimes, just for a change of scenery and course. I ended up finishing in 41:59 and taking first in my age group. I feel like my training this past year has kinda been in a slump and that I’ve slowed. So I was actually quite pleased with my time and hoping that things will be looking up in terms of my training, especially with another half in just a few weeks.

I do have to congratulate two friends who also ran today. Victor and Bill, who both attend Ki’netik (well Bill actually is a coach too!), ran today and kicked butt! Bill is also just coming off the Marine Corps Marathon where he did quite well too! Thanks to Berta and her and Victor’s sweet Violet for cheering us all on!

So sorry this is short, but it’s back to grad school work for the rest of the evening. It’s already quite dark outside and it’s only 5:30! It will be nice to wake up to sun though, at least for the time being. It’s so hard to get up in the morning when it’s dark!

Hope all is well! Have a great week!

I'd love to hear from you!

