Race Recap: Annapolis Running Classic Half Marathon

Standard

Susan13.1Annap2

Headed home over the weekend to run a relatively new race, the TCS Annapolis Running Classic Half Marathon. The race is only in it’s third year and is one of only four races allowed in downtown Annapolis each year.

The course started and finished at the Navy-Marine Corps Stadium. Both 10k and half marathoners ran together for the first 5 miles before the 10k runners headed back to the stadium, while the half marathoners headed across the Severn River. The first five miles wound through historic Annapolis, heading in on Rowe Blvd, going around Church Circle, down Main Street, around the dock area and then back into downtown. The course up to the 5 mile point was pretty flat. However, when the half marathoners head to the bridge, the bridge itself is quite a hill followed by several other downhills and hill climbs. Maryland, especially near the water ways, is not flat! I have to thank the hills, valleys, and mountains of State College for making them a lot easier than they would have been otherwise.

You return to historic Annapolis via the bridge and do some retracing of steps before heading back to the stadium. I have to say with the sun shining, it was an absolutely beautiful day to run Annapolis. The views were incredible, and there was always something to look at while running. I love exploring via runs, even when it’s a place that I’ve known my whole life.

While the race is on the smaller side, 5,500 runners total for both the 10k and half marathon, you’re never alone on the course but it’s not so crowded where you think you might trip or hit someone. I definitely plan to run it again. I also have to compliment the swag you get. There’s a great running hat you get at packet pickup, and then you get both a medal, a special finisher’s premium (this year was a long sleeve tech shirt) and some fun socks. I also thought it was neat that they announced your name as you crossed the finish line. A nice personal touch!

I was extremely pleased with my time. While I didn’t go sub-two (future goal), I cut 12 minutes off my time from my race in September coming in at 2:01.49.

I also have to give a shout out to my friend Anna. She ran the 10k and it was her first race ever. I think she’s caught the race bug and is already researching races for the spring. I’m very happy for her and certainly glad her first race experience was a good one.

Susan&Friend13.1Annap2

It was nice to be home for the weekend, even with me going back home in just a couple days for Thanksgiving. Definitely not a waste of gas or time to see family and just enjoy the weekend.

3 thoughts on “Race Recap: Annapolis Running Classic Half Marathon

I'd love to hear from you!

