#RunningSurvey!

Standard

One of my favorite Bloggers, A Daily Dose of Fit, shared a #runningsurvey the other day. I’ve decided to join in as a way to jumpstart my 2014 blogging. She grabbed the questions from blogger Cori from Olive to Run, who apparently has done seven rounds of questions so far. I love reading other blogs and learning about and from other bloggers, especially fitness enthusiasts. It was fun to read their responses and now I’m going to share mine. So here goes!

1. Would you rather run in a thunderstorm or snowstorm?
This is a piece of cake for me. I love snow so snowstorm it is. I’m hoping we get a lot more snow this winter so I can actually head out in it either on the road or in the woods. I love my yaktrax and they are great on snow and ice. I highly recommend a pair. They make them for walking, hiking, running and even ski boots.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a good thunderstorm. However, I prefer to watch those from safely inside my house. Running in the rain is fun, but not with thunder and lightning.

2. Would you rather breathe through your nose or through your mouth?
I’m definitely a mouth breather. I hear breathing in through your nose and out your mouth is more efficient, but I swear when I’ve tried I ended up having to slow up to catch my breath. It really screws with my rhythm. When I go run I let me body and breath find its comfortable rhythm. If I focus on it too much, I lose it. I’m sure if I were a pro-runner or had a coach or something, I’d probably have to work on that among other things!

3. Would you rather do 100 squats or 100 crunches?
Do I really have to choose? I guess I’d have to go with squats. It’s amazing, I feel like my legs will do just about anything I ask them to, whether it’s running a bit farther or faster or doing a few extra squats or lunges. My arms on the other hand? Let’s just not go there. I do enjoy crunches, but I also enjoy other core exercises like leg lifts, flutter kicks, t-rotations, planks, and sometimes even pikes on a ball. Crazy, I know!

4. Would you rather have a baked good for dessert or an extra serving of your favorite entree?
This is tough because it’s a baked good. I love my sweets, specifically chocolate. But I also enjoy dinner. Hmmm…I guess regardless I might still go with the baked good. Who can turn down a homemade, fresh-from-the-oven, chocolate chip cookie?

5. Would you rather run on a treadmill for an hour or run around the same street block for an hour?
I would never make it through an hour on the treadmill. That’s not only because of sheer boredom, but because I find treadmills to be painful pieces of machinery meant to wreck my shins and knees. Outside, while it may be the same street block there is the potential for a lot to look at like people, dogs, a beautiful sky, etc.

6. Would you rather have a headache during a run or a side stitch?
Umm neither? Ok, definitely a side stitch. I can get rid of those. I have run more than once with a headache and it was awful. The pounding just reverberates in your head. I avoid it at all costs.

7. Would you rather have a rest day on a work day or a day off?
I definitely have to say a work day, especially during the winter months when it’s dark and I’m limited to when and where I can run. Living near a college campus has been wonderful because it is very well lit and safe, making running at night or in the early morning possible. When I have a day off, be it a weekend or just because I took a day off, I enjoy getting in a run and/or a workout. It just feels great, partly because that’s my main focus rather than all the jumble in my head from work.

8. Would you rather be a race director or a race volunteer?
I’m not sure how to answer this as I’ve only had the experience of being a race volunteer. This past September I organized a group of friends to man a water station for the first Mt. Nittany Marathon in 30 years. It was a way to cheer on our friends who were running and all the other runners, but have fun too. I think it’d be great to be part of a big race organization and help in the planning though, just not sure about being the director unless it was a small, local race.

Part of our crew manning the water station that covered Mile 8 and Mile 13.

Part of our crew manning the water station that covered Mile 8 and Mile 13.


9. Would you rather spend your money on running gadgets or running shoes?
I’m definitely going to have to go with shoes. Because it was recommended by my PT to wear the same shoe to run as I do for my indoor cross training at Ki’netik, I go through shoes a little faster than if I were to just run in them. I keep tabs on the tread, how my legs and feet feel, and how long I’ve been using the shoes. I know many people are more scientific than that, keeping track of miles, and using a few pairs of shoes. However, I found my shoes (Asics 2000-2) and am content.

t3p8n_9036_0010198289_f_l_primary

10. Would you rather run in a relay or do the run portion of a distance triathlon?
I can’t choose! I’ve done a relay twice, the Tussey Mountainback 50 Mile Ultramarathon and Relay. I was part of an 8-person team the first time and a 6-person team the second time, but ran two legs both times. It was such a fun day! I would do the run portion of a triathlon if the opportunity arose. I’m not a swimmer (I know how, just am not very good at the whole speed part), and my bike is more recreational as opposed to being for races.

Li\k\uid Awesome

Li\k\uid Awesome

Well there ya have it! If Olive to Run does another, I just might have to do this again!

Have a great weekend!

One thought on “#RunningSurvey!

I'd love to hear from you!

