Valentine’s Day #LoveLoveLove

Standard

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone! I know, I know. It’s a Hallmark holiday. However, it can be really hard not to get caught up in all the lovey dovey.

I recently started following Olive To Run and she participated in a Valentine’s themed Old School Blogging event hosted by The Miss Elaine-ous and Tamara. I couldn’t resist joining in on the fun!

Feel free to join in on the fun! Tweet @elainea and @TamaraCamPhoto with #OSBlog, and don’t forget to post a link on Elaine’s blog!

How do you typically celebrate Valentine’s Day?
Well, I like to keep it low key. Gabe and I have usually made dinner at home and usually surprise each other with something simple, yet special. This year, we’re once again staying in with maybe a trip out for drinks after. He’s making dinner (he’s the kitchen talent in our relationship) and I’ll be baking these!

Source: Ambitious Kitchen

Source: Ambitious Kitchen

I’ll be modifying it and using marshmallows instead of Nutella. I’m not a huge Nutella fan and the only jars at the store were huge!

Do you like to get A)chocolates, B) Flowers, C) a sweet card or D) all of the above?
Honestly, B or C. However, I don’t expect it on Valentine’s Day. I don’t think showing someone your love should just be limited to this one day a year, a day when flowers are insanely overpriced. I think the random acts of love and kindness are the best and most special. Gabe and I have a nice evening planned, but I think he does a wonderful job of expressing how he feels throughout the year.

Would you consider yourself a “cuddler?” If not, would you at least cuddle on Valentine’s Day?
Yes, I’m a cuddler! It’s the best!

What is your favorite movie about love or with a love story?
I’m a sucker for a good (or cheesy) love story/chick flick. What? I’m a girl and they make me happy. Anyway, I think I’ll have to be cliche here and go with The Notebook and Pride and Prejudice.

Do you believe in “love at first sight?” Did it happen to you?
I don’t know. Maybe. I think there can be attraction, lust, lots of different feelings. Love grows with time and that’s a good thing in my book.

Do you believe love can conquer all things?
I believe that love, understanding, and a desire for good can help us get through and achieve much. It’s not the simple, but yet maybe it could be.

What is one of the main things you love about your S.O.?
Just one? Seriously? Ok well, that’s not going to happen. He’s driven and focused and intelligent, but he’s also passionate and gives his all to the things he’s passionate about. He also knows how to make me feel special in ways no one else has.

If you could have the perfect Valentine date what would you and your loved one do?
That’s tough! I think maybe we’d be celebrating somewhere new and far away. We’ve been talking about all the places we want to travel to and experience the culture be it South America, Europe, Asia. I think it’ll happen one day!

Tell me about your first crush!
This is tough because you always have those lil kid crushes on classmates or friends’ siblings. I’ll touch on my kindergarten crush. His name was Justin and we were in Mrs. Fall’s kindergarten class. He moved away after first grade.

Do you have any embarassing or horror dating stories?
Amazingly not really. I will say I didn’t exactly put my best foot forward with Gabe on our first date. We went out after the gym one night for drinks. I showed up in a hoodie and jeans. Sexy, I know! However, apparently my ability to make him laugh for the next few hours charmed him enough to look past my lackluster fashion.

Favorite Flower?
This is another tough one. I love flowers of all kinds. I’m going to have to go with sunflowers and roses. However, this lilypad flower definitely fits in with my favorites!IMG_20130724_112713_051

What’s the first type of chocolate you hope for when you reach into a box of chocolates?
Not the biggest fan of boxes of chocolate, especially when they don’t have a key to what all the chocolates are. I like anything with nuts in it though.

Favorite love song?
Umm again just one? Sorry not happening! Here’s a few I like.

What is the best breakup song?
Not real sure, but this one is fun.

Favorite celebrity couple?
I don’t have one. Sorry, I just don’t.

Overall, are you pro- or anti-Valentine’s Day?
I think I would go with pro. I think it’s gotten a bit out of hand maybe. However, it never hurts to show someone you love how much you care as long as this isn’t the only day it happens.

If someone did that “Say Anything” boombox thing outside your window, would you be into it, or call the police?
I guess it depends on the person 🙂

First thing you notice about the objects of your affection?
I think with Gabe it’s how he can look so classy. He doesn’t dress up often here, but when he does or when we’re in the city and he does, he looks awesome and I’m happy to be the one on his arm.

What’s the best thing you’ve ever gotten for Valentine’s Day?
I think it’s really just the love that gets reinforced from family, Gabe, and my friends. A card in the mail or a text or a call, make the day that much more special.

Well that was fun! Happy Valentine’s Day! Hope it’s special and memorable!

5 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day #LoveLoveLove

  1. tamaralikecamera

    I love the keys that tell you what each chocolate is! How can they sometimes not have them?
    And the lilypad flower is gorgeous. I was torn between sunflowers and roses and lilacs.

    • The lilypad flower is from the Arboretum here at Penn State. It’s near my office so in the summer I walk over to take a break. I, too, can’t believe chocolate boxes don’t always have a key! Then I feel bad because I want to touch them all to help me figure out if I’m going to like what I’ll bite into!

    • They were so good! I ended up sharing with some friends and everyone gave them rave reviews. They were really easy to make too! I used three mini marshmallows instead of the Nutella for some and then two mini marshmallows with 3 mini butterscotch chips in others.

      Hope you had a wonderful Valentine’s Day and a great weekend!

I'd love to hear from you!

