Banana Muffins and #MarathonTraining

Standard

What a combo, right? That was pretty much my weekend though, with a little extra fun thrown in. How was yours?

On Friday, two running buddies joined me for an 8-mile run. It was warmer, but the wind started to pick up the later it got. I was definitely glad to have my jacket with me. I had delayed that run for two days due to the weather so I was running regardless at that point. I do not enjoy running inside or in circles, so I’m usually willing to brave the elements. The wind had just been too bad on Wednesday and Thursday. I really don’t want to get sick so I try to be flexible.

On Saturday my week of dogsitting came to an end. It was fun and I look forward to watching her again sometime. For now I’m glad to get some sleep. I didn’t sleep well most of the week thanks to the crazy noises the house made!

When I got home I decided to use two very ripe bananas I had sitting around, and one my roommate had leftover. I had made these banana muffins before with walnuts. They’re yummy, but definitely a different consistency than a normal muffin due to having no butter or oil. They’re “healthier” 🙂 However, this time I found the batter to be excessively dry. I remembered that one of commenters suggested adding some skim milk so I decided to try that. I didn’t measure, I just poured in a splash. It did the trick. I also lacked some walnuts, but had two open bags of chocolate chips (one dark chocolate and one milk chocolate) that wouldn’t be enough for any other recipe. I dumped those in, gave the batter a stir, and poured into my super cute muffin cups.

The exterior design doesn't fade when baking due to the lining. They were just as cute after!

The exterior design doesn’t fade when baking due to the lining. They were just as cute after!

I filled the cups about 2/3 full. You can see the chocolate chips in the batter.

I filled the cups about 2/3 full. You can see the chocolate chips in the batter.

Fresh from the oven!

Fresh from the oven!

Mmmm!

Mmmm!

The milk, while not adding a lot of calories (it was skim!) did just enough to improve the consistency of the muffin, in my opinion. They’re definitely a little more muffin-like, but can still be considered quite a bit healthier than a banana muffin you might buy at Dunkin Donuts or Starbucks (nothing against their muffins!). You can also try adding a fourth banana, something I have done in the past. It adds a bit more moisture, but the muffin will still be on the chewy side of things.

Two other big things to note. First, the recipe says to bake for 20-25 minutes. Mine only needed to be in for 15! My oven runs a bit hot, but that’s still quite a change so you’ll want to keep an eye on them. Second, I got 18 muffins using a regular cupcake sized tin. Recipe says you’ll only get 10.

Here’s my modified recipe:

Ingredients
2 eggs
3 very ripe bananas, mashed
2 cups flour
1 tsp salt
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup skim milk

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease or line the muffins cups in a cupcake tin.
2. In a medium bowl, mix eggs and bananas. Add in flour one cup at a time and mix. Add in salt, sugar, and baking soda and mix.
3. Stir in about one cup chocolate chips (or walnuts, etc), or more if desired. Spoon into muffins cups filling about 2/3 full.
4. Bake for 15 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into center of muffin comes out clean.

Easy!

Saturday night, Gabe and I headed out to Elk Creek Cafe with his friend Mario and his fiancĂ©. They hadn’t eaten there before. The restaurant is known for it’s beer and delicious food! I highly recommend the beer sampler. You get a taste of each beer, plus their seasonal, in good-sized glasses. It’s worth way more than the $10 they charge!

Did I mention it looks quite pretty too?

Did I mention it looks quite pretty too?

We had a great time. Despite it being about 30 minutes outside of town, it’s worth the drive. They often have music on Friday and Saturday nights and they definitely pack it in!

On Sunday I continued my marathon training with another long run. This weekend was 16 miles, only one more mile than last week. My friend Ivy joined me. We headed out at 11 a.m. to plant some water at the halfway point. It was nice to have that to look forward to, and it helped stave off hunger pains that hit us both about 3 miles from the end. We were both a bit tired when we started, but once we got going we did pretty well. Hopefully next weekend’s 18 miles goes just as smoothly!

I stopped at the grocery store yesterday as well, and managed to buy almost exclusively fresh food, including kale, asparagus, lettuce, plum tomatoes, garlic, broccoli, strawberries, sweet peppers, and apples. I also bought two Eye of Round steaks for a crockpot meal, as well as some Chobani Greek Yogurt Flips. I’m trying to improve my eating. I’m hungry a lot from the increase in activity with training, but don’t always make good decisions when it comes to picking my food. Definitely something I need to pay more attention to for the long run!

Anyways, I’ll be back to check in soon! Hope you had a good weekend!

2 thoughts on “Banana Muffins and #MarathonTraining

I'd love to hear from you!

