Trying Something New!

Standard

As a child, I wasn’t always the most adventurous with food. I had my likes and dislikes, and boy did I go through some hilarious phases. I hated pizza for a brief period of time, and still am not the biggest fan of Italian food in general. It’s something to do with the texture of the cheeses, which leads me to my dislike of cheese.

I know what you’re thinking…who doesn’t like cheese? Well for a long time I didn’t like any cheese. As I got older though, I discovered I liked cheeses that have more complex flavors or are just basically not boring. I love chèvre, brie, feta, gorgonzola, etc. However, I still can’t bring myself to sit down and eat cubes of cheese. And frankly, I don’t really enjoy watching other people do it either.

So back to the point, as I’ve gotten older I always make an effort to try things at least once. There are also foods I keep making myself try over and over in the hope that one day I’ll like them. I know that’s madness. For example, I don’t like eggs. I can eat them if they’re disguised by cheese, bacon, etc., but I just can’t eat eggs. No omelets, not scrambled, nada! I’ll keep trying. Our tastes change constantly. You never know!

The other day I stopped at the grocery store for some sort of protein for dinner. I already had a ton of veggies waiting at home, but I decided to walk through the produce section anyway and see if anything caught my eye. For some reason I bought a head of cauliflower. I’ve never eat cauliflower. It’s white and looks kinda gross. I like colorful foods. Interestingly enough, despite its lack of color cauliflower is super good for you. It’s high in Vitamin C, and also contains other things like folate, Vitamin B6 and K, fiber, and more!

Gabe and I decided to roast it along with some asparagus. I have to say it turned out quite good! It’s definitely going to be something I’ll eat again. Check out our dinner and my directions for roasting cauliflower.

Baked wings with roasted asparagus and cauliflower....mmm!

Baked wings with roasted asparagus and cauliflower….mmm!

Directions for roasting cauliflower:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees (my oven runs hot so you might want to set yours to 425).
2. After chopping the cauliflower, lightly coat in olive oil in a bowl. It doesn’t need to be soaked in it, just a light coating to help seasoning stick and keep it from sticking to your pan.
3. Choose your seasonings. I used a a spice mixture from Penzey’s Spices. Anything would be good, but don’t forget some salt and pepper too! Sprinkle and mix to evenly coat the cauliflower. I used my hands to mix to keep from breaking apart the cauliflower too much.
4. Place it in a single layer on pan.
IMG_20140317_191645_699
5. Roast for 15-20 minutes. Keep an eye on it to make sure it doesn’t burn. You want to be able to stick a fork through it, but it shouldn’t be mushy.
6. Enjoy with the rest of your meal!

As I’m attempting to improve my eating habits, I’ve learned that spices can do wonderful things to foods you might not like (or at least think you don’t like). You can go mild, sweet, spicy, you name it! And don’t forget salt. Obviously you don’t want to drown anything in salt, but a little goes a long way in enhancing flavors.

On another note, back in February I entered the lottery for the 39th Marine Corps Marathon in D.C. in October. I haven’t run my first marathon yet (it’s May 4 in Cincinnati), but my friends had nothing but rave reviews for the MCM last year. It’s mission, according to the website is “to promote physical fitness, generate community goodwill and showcase the organizational skills of the United States Marine Corps.” It’s considered “The People’s Marathon” as the largest marathon in the world to not provide prize money. So anyway, I decided to enter the lottery and see if I’d get a spot. I got my e-mail at 12:48 p.m. today. I am nervous, but excited! Hopefully my first marathon in May goes well and I’ll be confident heading into the training for the MCM this summer.

539966_10152720653495014_2030046541_a

I'd love to hear from you!

