Recipe: Garlic Sesame Kale Chips

Standard

Kale.

Another green, leafy vegetable right? Well, yes and no. Kale is hugely popular right now and is known as the “queen of greens” according to WebMD (Ok, I know they’re a sketchy source but we’ll let that go). Recipes abound for kale. You can steam it, bake it, eat it raw, and more. It’s rich in vitamins A, C, and K, fiber, and lutein. It’s also a great vegetable to have during the winter months because it likes to grow in cooler weather, unlike many other vegetables that are more common in summer months.

In my quest to improve my diet, a process that’s been slow going, I decided to throw kale into the mix for something new and different. I embarked on a quest for some good recipes, but wasn’t real thrilled with what I was coming across in my short and infrequent searches. Then my Runner’s World magazine showed up. Low and behold there was a recipe for kale chips.

Now, I’ve had store bought kale chips before. They’re good, but not something I was going to spend money on regularly. I just wasn’t overly impressed with flavors and prices. Making my own was definitely something I could do though, especially since I already had all the ingredients for the recipe.

I tried to find this recipe on the Runner’s World website, but had no luck. Here’s my version:

Ingredients
6 1/2 cups kale, chopped.
1 tbps. olive oil
1 tbsp. minced garlic
2 tsp. sesame seeds
salt and pepper

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Chop up the kale into 1 1/2 in. pieces. (Kale comes in bunches at Wegman’s on long, thick stems. Just focus on the leaves.)

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

3. Combine the kale, olive oil, and garlic in a bowl. Toss to evenly coat the leaves.

4. Add the sesame seeds and toss. Add salt and pepper to taste.

5. Spread the kale on a baking sheet. It doesn’t have to be a single layer.

Love the color!

Love the color!

6. Bake for 15-17 minutes, tossing about halfway through. The leaves should start to crisp and the edges will turn brown.

7. Enjoy!

The leaves shrink down quite a bit so you'll probably only get 2-3 servings with one bunch of kale.

The leaves shrink down quite a bit so you’ll probably only get 2-3 servings with one bunch of kale.

Notes:
I noticed my garlic ended up in the bottom of the bowl so I just sprinkled it on top after I spread the kale on the baking sheet. I also did not need the full 15 minutes as my oven runs hot. You might want to play with the oven temperature as I’ve seen many other kale chip recipes with a lower heat, such as 300-350. You would probably just have to increase the baking time if you lower the temperature. I ended up removing about half the chips early so they wouldn’t burn, while the remainder finished crisping up. Did I already mention my oven is terrible? 😉

I loved the flavor and hope you do too. The chips are nice and light, yet filling. They’d be a great snack or side dish.

Question: Do you have any good kale recipes you can share?

I'd love to hear from you!

