Race Recap: End of the Mountain 5K

Standard

Got back to running today with a local 5k called End of the Mountain. It’s a small race benefiting the local community of Lemont. It’s been around for a couple years, but until today I had never been able to attend.

Lemont is a cute little town right near State College. It has a lot of old homes, the historic granary, and some really nice local businesses. They have a “Village Green” where the race started and ended. In the summer on Friday evenings they have local bands come play. It’s a lot of folk music, but it’s fun to sit in the grass with some wine and snacks and relax.

There was a 50% chance of rain today, but thankfully it held off until I was in my car on my way home. The sun came back out briefly, but it has since started pouring. I guess I’ll be postponing a trip to the farmer’s market, at least until it stops raining.

Back to the race, as this is a race recap afterall! I was No. 22 🙂

Not going to lie, it was a bit difficult to take this photo with my phone...

Not going to lie, it was a bit difficult to take this photo with my phone…

Apparently they changed the course for the race last year and got some positive feedback so they left it the same. The first thing I should mention is that Lemont is at the base of Mt. Nittany and it has tons of hills from the small to the large and from the gradual to the steep. Have to say this race did a nice job of incorporating quite a few. The first 1/4 mile was flat and then you turned and had a 3/4 mile (or so) long, steep climb. You can see the top of Mt. Nittany the whole time so it was like you were climbing it. Then you have a long downhill, before two turns and another steep ascent. I admit I started to walk halfway up this second hill. My hamstrings were screaming a bit!

The final 1.5 miles were mostly flat with two small hills and some nice downhills. The rough part for some it seemed was the fact that you run right past the finish line, but you have to run around the Village Green before crossing it. The race organizers had a lot of great post-race snacks, including the requisite bananas, but also cookies from the delicious bakery, Dolce Vita in downtown Lemont.

A local who wins a lot of the local races set a new course record with a time of 16:49. The top woman finish in just over 24 minutes. I was happy with my time of 25:46 and was the fourth woman to finish. Despite the hills, this was a nice race and I’d consider doing it again. It’s always nice to do things that benefit the local community.

Next week I have the Black Moshannon 10k! I ran it last year. It has a nice big hill early on and then is flat and the last mile or so is entirely downhill. Now it’s off to run errands and enjoy the rest of my Saturday!

Question: Did you race this weekend?

I'd love to hear from you!

