Pinspire Me Fridays – Vol. 3

Standard

I’m going in a different direction for Pinspire Me Fridays this week and sharing a recipe. One of the blogs I read regularly, The Lean Green Bean, shared the following recipe a few weeks ago. I made them for Memorial Day and they were a big hit.

I don’t know about you, but I’m a lover of anything chocolate and anything even remotely like cheesecake. These Black Bottom Cupcakes were obviously a perfect combination!

So easy and so delicious!

So easy and so delicious!

The recipe was super easy even with them being made from scratch.

Ingredients

  • 8 oz. reduced fat cream cheese, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 1/2 cups white flour
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup brewed coffee
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tbsp. white vinegar

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, combine the cream cheese, egg and sugar (1/4 cup) using a mixer.
  2. Stir in chocolate chips.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients.
  4. Add liquid ingredients and stir until combined.
  5. Line muffin tins with liners.
  6. Fill halfway with chocolate batter and top with cream cheese mixture.
  7. Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes.
  8. Let cool and store in refrigerator.

Notes

  • I used regular white flour as that is what I had on hand.
  • I used Ghirardelli ground chocolate powder that my roommate had, but regular cocoa will still produce a delicious result.
  • I didn’t have a coffee maker so I just followed Lindsay’s instructions of increasing to 1 cup of water instead.
  • I used dark chocolate chips.
  • My oven runs hot so I ended up setting the dial to 325 degrees and pulled out the cupcakes after only 19 minutes.
  • I got 14 cupcakes from the mixture.

Unlike in Lindsay’s photos, my cream cheese mixture sank as soon as I put it on top of the cupcake batter. Obviously it looks different, but everyone who ate them said they enjoyed the fact that the mixture was throughout the cupcake.

A big thank you to Lindsay for sharing her family recipe on her blog. Make sure to check out Lindsay’s blog regularly. She covers a wide variety of topics and there’s always something new to check out.

Question: Have you ever tried out a new recipe and it didn’t look quite like the picture, but it still tasted good?

I'd love to hear from you!

