A Weekend With the Girls

Standard

Ten years ago, I was blessed to have met a wonderful group of girls during my freshman year of college. We’ve been there for each other through the ups and downs, the good guys and bad guys, and the many miles that have since come between us. I wouldn’t trade them for anything.

This past weekend we celebrated our 10th annual beach trip, which happened to coordinate perfectly with our dear Lissbird’s Bachelorette. I can’t believe it’s been 10 years since our first trip, but I remember that first trip to Ortley Beach well. While we all haven’t been to all 10, we’ve made it a point to make sure as many of us as possible can attend each Heifer Beach Weekend. Yep, we call ourselves heifers even though none of us actually qualify as one. We just love our food 🙂

Anyway, for the 10th annual event we headed to Ocean City, Md. where we stayed in a great townhouse right on the beach. We got in some quality sunbathing, lots of laughs (and drinks), and some fun nights out enjoying the nightlife. It went by so fast, but I think Alissa’s bachelorette weekend was a success! It was so much fun to celebrate with everyone and I can’t wait for Alissa’s bridal shower in August and wedding in October. We have a lot to look forward to in the next few months.

We lucked out with beautiful weather most of the weekend. Saturday was cloudy and cool, but we did manage to spend some quality time outside. Check out the view from our townhouse!

Just a short walk over the dunes and we were right on the beach!

Just a short walk over the dunes and we were right on the beach!

We’re planning to put together a frame of pictures from the last 10 years. So far it’s been fun going through all the old photos looking for our group shots. I just realized we forgot to take a pyramid timer photo this time. Oh well…we still got this great shot of us with the bride-to-be!

The Heifers clean up pretty nice!

The Heifers clean up pretty nice!

Prior to the trip, Caitlin asked me to put together a circuit workout like the ones at my gym. I wasn’t sure we’d actually get to do it, but I had fun putting one together just in case. It definitely motivated us to get up at least one morning early enough to get a workout in. After a late night Saturday, I woke up Sunday pretty early, but didn’t wake anyone up since it was before 8 a.m. I dozed off for a bit longer only to wake up to Caitlin poking me asking if we could go workout. Of course! It ended up being three of us out on the beach and we got in a pretty good workout.

CircuitI’ve been toying with getting a NASM certification, so I really enjoyed creating and leading a workout. We did two rounds, which was perfect for a Sunday morning after a late night. We definitely worked up a sweat! You don’t realize how soft sand can change things until you try it.

 

All done!

All done!

After a few more hours on the beach, we cleaned up the house, packed up, and headed our separate ways. I hit up the outlets in Rehobeth before continuing my trek home. It was worth the stop!

Another successful bachelorette (and heifer reunion in the books). I’m so glad these girls are in my life and I’m definitely looking forward to continuing our tradition for years to come!

Question: Do you have annual get together’s with friends?

 

I'd love to hear from you!

