Fall Race Schedule

Standard

It’s been a little over a week since I’ve posted due to being on vacation. I’ll make it up to ya!

I spent last week on the annual family vacation trip to Litchfield Beach, South Carolina. My parents have been going down since before I was even born as my grandparents had retired there. Despite the fact that my grandparents are no longer with us, we still continue the trip. We rent a cute house about a block from the beach that backs up to Huntington Beach State Park. It’s a quiet area that doesn’t get too crowded.

We’re about 45 minutes south of Myrtle Beach so we can always go up there for some fun. However, I find there is plenty to do down where we are. We had a great week for weather, including two days with low temps and low humidity, something completely unheard of in July in South Carolina. I did manage to get in one run of about 3 miles, but for the most part I took the week off. I did do a lot of walking along the water.

One of the areas closest to us is Murrell’s Inlet, the seafood capital of South Carolina. It has a ton of great restaurants, marinas, and the Marsh Walk, which offered stunning views like this one.

View from the Marsh Walk.

View from the Marsh Walk.

I’ll share more on my week in another post, but for now I’m going to dive into my fall race schedule. Up first is the Beat the Band 5k in Lewisburg on Aug. 13. It’s a Wednesday evening race and a Bee Gees cover band is going to play a 32 minute set. The goal is to make it to the finish line before they finish. A group of us are carpooling there. It was inexpensive for a 5k and it sounded low key and fun.

Next up is one I’m super excited to do. A friend of mine had to back out of the Bird-in-Hand Half Marathon on Sept. 6 and offered up her bib. I bought it and we got her registration transferred to me. Awhile back, Runner’s World did a story about a group of Amish who run at night in that area and also mentioned a half marathon that the Amish are very involved with. I added it to my list of races. Soon after, another story from Runner’s World highlighted some of the coolest race medals, including the one from the Bird-in-Hand Half.

birdinhand

I admit to being motivated by bling, and this medal is pretty awesome! I knew this was a must-do race, except it was already sold out. I made a mental note to register for 2015, but wasn’t sure if I’d be able to do it then either. September 2015 is a long way away. But now I get to do this year’s race and I’m really excited.

The final race I’m committed to is the Marine Corps Marathon on Oct. 26 in D.C. I got selected from the lottery and will join two other friends from Ki’netik. It will be my second marathon and I’m really excited to finish and hopefully with an improved time.

There are a few other races I’m considering. These include the Lewisburg Half Marathon on Sept. 14, the Lewisburg Lights 5k on Sept. 19, the Hershey Half Marathon on Oct. 19 (or maybe being part of a team for the Tussey Mountainback Ultramarathon and Relay), as well as a few local 5ks yet to be determined. We’ll see!

I’m also thinking about joining in on some track workouts with the local running club. They just started them up again and you don’t need previous track experience. I can’t go until next week, but I’m thinking it could be beneficial.

I’ll be back to check in later this week. Have a great Monday!

Question: Do you have any races planned?

I'd love to hear from you!

