#SUPYoga Recap

Standard

I recently did a guest post on my first SUP yoga experience for my friend Anna over at Charmed Wellness. After attending my second class, I decided I had to share it here too!

Whipple Dam State Park

Whipple Dam State Park

It was another great class on a beautiful morning at Whipple Dam State Park. Whipple Dam is a small lake offering swimming, peddle boat rentals, kayak rentals, hiking, and now SUP yoga and paddle board rentals. The SUP Yoga class is 90 minutes for $20, while you can rent the boards for an hour for $15.

Caitlin, the instructor, is great and helps you easily get used to being on the paddle board. Unlike the ocean, Whipple Dam is very flat so I imagine it’s a great place to learn how to SUP, as well as take your yoga practice off dry land. I’m not much of a yoga person, but adding in the SUP makes it so different and very engaging. I also like Caitlin’s approach to teaching. She’s very good at offering instruction and also keeps things light and fun. I’m really glad she plans to move to the area permanently and will be bringing her business back next summer.

My friend Ivy attended for the first time today. She had a great time, despite falling in, and took to the sport well. We got to spend about 30 minutes after the class paddling around the lake before we had Caitlin take some pictures for us. While paddling I saw a lot of fish and two turtles. The water is quite clear and the lake is rather shallow so you can see the bottom almost everywhere.

Ivy and I before we headed back to the dock.

Ivy and I before we headed back to the dock.

Practicing some poses before calling it a day. Not the best form, but that's not the easiest pose on a moving board :)

Practicing some poses before calling it a day. Not the best form, but that’s not the easiest pose on a moving board 🙂

Caitlin is planning two more weekends, so hopefully I can catch at least one more class. If you ever have the chance to try SUP or SUP Yoga, I highly recommend it, even if you aren’t a yogi. Both options are a great workout and a lot of fun.

Question: Have you ever tried SUP or SUP Yoga?

 

One thought on “#SUPYoga Recap

I'd love to hear from you!

