#Marathon Training Update

Standard

What a beautiful weekend it was here in PA! Hope the weather was nice wherever you are. How’d you spend your weekend? Do anything fun?

Gabe and I spent Saturday in Pittsburgh. We visited the zoo around midday to take advantage of the wonderful weather before heading to a late lunch. We stopped at a french bakery after called Gaby et Jules in the Squirrel Hill neighborhood. We got a beautiful lemon pastry and a box of six macarons.

Incredible!

Incredible!

I’d never had a macaron before and was pleasantly surprised by the incredible textures and flavors the chef was able to create. The flavors we chose included pistachio, La Pittsburgh, white chocolate basil, poppy, chocolate, and rose.

Afterwards we headed downtown to visit Point State Park. The fountain was recently turned back on after a few years and it was stunning. The park was gorgeous and the views were wonderful. There were boats all over the river since it was not only a beautiful day, but Pittsburgh also played Akron and the Pirates also had a game.

Haven't been to the park since I was a kid!

Haven’t been to the park since I was a kid!

Pretty sweet view. Akron beat Pittsburgh.

Pretty sweet view. Akron beat Pittsburgh.

The City of Bridges

The City of Bridges

We got home around 10:30 and I had to throw in some laundry for my run the next morning. My original long run plans went by the wayside due to some unforeseen circumstances so I ended up deciding to tackle the 14 miles on my own. My last long run did not go well for a number of reasons, so I was hoping for a better outcome. I was also hoping that my foot pain would not kick in during or post-run. I’ve been rolling my feet on my new yoga balls and they feel so much better than a golf ball. I think they’re helping, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Prior to heading out on my run! Was well stocked with my FuelBelt, sport beans, sunglasses and iPod.

Prior to heading out on my run! Was well stocked with my FuelBelt, sport beans, sunglasses and iPod.

Anyway, I set off around 9:30 a.m. when it was quite cool, but perfect running weather. I completed 13.63 miles in 2:07 averaging 9:20/mile. I mapped a course prior to running and tried to go into some neighborhoods and places I don’t typically run for a change of scenery. It worked out. I had debated not taking my Fuelbelt, but was so glad I did as I went through three of the four bottles as the temperature climbed. The best part of all was I had no pain on the outside of my foot during or after (knock on wood)! I think I am also dealing with a bit of plantar fasciitis, but I’m trying to keep on top of it with stretching and the yoga balls.

I’m looking forward to my shorter runs this week and my long run of 20 miles this weekend! Crossing my fingers things continue going well. Taper time is swiftly approaching, which means the race is almost here!

I’ll be back to check in later this week. Until then, have a great one!

Question: Have you ever had to overcome an injury in the midst of training for a specific event?

2 thoughts on “#Marathon Training Update

I'd love to hear from you!

