Race #Bucketlist

Standard

I’ve been trying to do this post for awhile. This is due in part because while researching all the different races out there, I found it hard to pick. There are just so many great races! This isn’t an all-encompassing list and I’ll certainly be adding to it through time. Some of the motivation behind my choices stem from hearing great things about a particular race, while reasons behind other choices stem from a desire to visit a certain place or to take on a new challenge.

Here they are in no particular order.

1. Dick’s Sports Goods Pittsburgh Marathon/Half Marathon

Gabe ran this race a few years ago, but I bowed out due to injury. I love Pittsburgh and all its bridges!

Gabe ran this race a few years ago, but I bowed out due to injury. I love Pittsburgh and all its bridges! PC: Dick’s Sports Goods Pittsburgh Marathon

I’ve wanted to run this race (the half marathon) for quite some time. I know I’ll do it at some point. Pittsburgh is a favorite city of mine and was a place I spent a great deal of time growing up as I had family there. It’s a relatively new race, but I’ve only ever heard good things.

2. Mayor’s Midnight Sun Marathon/Half Marathon

What an incredible view! PC: Mayor's Marathon & Half Marathon

What an incredible view! PC: Mayor’s Marathon & Half Marathon

I visited Anchorage in 2008 with the Syracuse women’s basketball team when they competed in the Great Alaskan Shootout. No, I was not on the team but serving as their media relations rep. It was my first time to Alaska and only made me want to go again. What a beautiful and unusual place!

3. Horsetooth Half Marathon

Apparently this race was voted the No. 1 half by Colorado Running Magazine readers. I feel like that’s a pretty good endorsement! I definitely want to do some Colorado races as it’s one of my favorite states. A few I found caught my eye, but the elevation change between where I am on the east coast compared to Colorado makes me nervous. I have never had any problem skiing out there, but have never tried running. This one has some major climbs, but they at least sound doable compared to other races I’ve looked at. I wouldn’t mind adding Denver’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Half to my list too!

4. Bozeman Marathon/Half Marathon

Love the mountains in the background! PC: Bozeman Marathon

Love the mountains in the background! PC: Bozeman Marathon

I’ve been to 34 states, but Montana isn’t one of them hence why I wanted to find an excuse to go. A race seems like a perfectly good excuse, as well as my desire to visit Glacier National Park and absorb the beauty of Montana.

5. Acadia Half Marathon

Surprisingly I couldn't find a Facebook page for this race, so I decided to nab a photo from the park website. This probably isn't the view you have during the race, but it sure is beautiful. PC: Acadia National Park

Surprisingly I couldn’t find a Facebook page for this race, so I decided to nab a photo from the park website. This probably isn’t the view you have during the race, but it sure is beautiful. PC: Acadia National Park

Another state I’d like to cross off sooner rather than later is Maine. I feel like I’d absolutely love it there because it’s supposed to be beautiful. It would also give me a chance to visit another national park, Acadia National Park.

6. Bournemouth Marathon Festival

My cousin moved to England last year and lives in Bournemouth. There are actually tons of races all over the UK. It was hard to pick just one. Ultimately I just would like to run a race there, be it this one or another. This does sound like it’s a great event with a lot going on. Plus, it would be just one part of a hopefully great trip!

7. Country Music Marathon/Half Marathon

PC: Country Music Marathon and Half Marathon

PC: Country Music Marathon and Half Marathon

This is my excuse to visit Nashville! I love country music. My college friends introduced me as soon as I arrived on campus as a freshman when we attended the Tim McGraw concert. I’ve loved it since then! I’m more into the pop country than anything else, but it’s usually what’s on in the car and several songs always make it on my running playlists.

8. Kosice Peace Marathon/Half Marathon

PC: Kosice Peace Marathon

PC: Kosice Peace Marathon

When googling races, I wondered if there were any races in Slovakia. My maternal grandparents were first-generation Slovak Americans and their heritage has always interested me. Their parents all came to the U.S. in the early 1900s. Anyway, I’ve wanted to visit the country and get this, they have the oldest marathon in Europe!

9. Ragnar Trail Relay

How beautiful does this look? PC: Ragnar Trail Relay

How beautiful does this look? PC: Ragnar Trail Relay

My friend Lauren, an accomplished runner and Ironwoman, asked if any of the girls were interested in running the Ragnar Trail Relay in West Virginia. I jumped immediately and said yes. I really enjoyed the little bit of trail running I’ve done and would like to do more. Wouldn’t this be a perfect excuse? We need 5 more team members so cross your fingers I get to check this off my list as early as June 2015!

10. Runner’s World Half and Festival

I love Runner’s World magazine. I can only imagine that their race festival would be very well done so it makes my list. Plus, it’s not that far from where I live. They also get some big running names coming in to compete, which is pretty cool!

One other race I can’t forget about is the Bird-in-Hand Half Marathon. I absolutely loved this race and hope to make it one I get to do several times.

So there’s a glimpse at my list that will only grow and change as I do the same. I hope I get to cross each one of these off my list all in due time.

Question: What’s your favorite race? Do you have a race bucket list?

 

I'd love to hear from you!

