Pinspire Me Friday – Vol. 22

Standard

A day late…better late than never right? I completely forgot what day of the week it was and thus forgot to do my Friday Pinterest post. Well, here it is a bit anyway.

Last weekend I came across a pin from Women’s Health Magazine for 31 breakfast recipes that promote weight loss. While I think that’s simplifying that quite a bit, I decided to check them out. Cereal just isn’t cutting it!

I have to admit so many of them looked really good. I picked out three that I thought were reasonable to prepare in the mornings and were things I knew I’d enjoy eating. They include the Savory English Muffin (#4), Scrambled Eggsadilla (#8), and the Savory Breakfast Burrito (#25). There are a ton of others ones that look good that I might try down the road. So far I’ve only made the Savory English Muffin, but have the ingredients for the other two. I’ll report back when I try them.

Recipe:
3 oz ham (I used Boar’s Head Honey Maple, sliced thin)
1/2 cup raw kale, stems removed
2 tbsp. shredded low-fat cheese (I used Sargento Reduced Fat Cheddar Jack)
1 whole-wheat English Muffin (I used the Ezekiel 7-grain, which pack some extra protein)
1 tsp olive oil

Prepared and ready for toasting in the oven!

Prepared and ready for toasting in the oven!

Layer ham, kale, and cheese on muffin halves. Drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle with chili powder, sea salt and black pepper. Toast in a 375 degree oven for up to 10 minutes.

Quite yummy and filling!

Quite yummy and filling!

I find that unlike with cereal where I’m hungry by 9 am after having eaten at 7:30, I’m not hungry til around 10:30-11 a.m. with this. I’ve had it three times this week. I think it would also be good with a fried egg added post-toasting.

Gabe really enjoys this recipe and it’s pretty quick to prepare. I just have to remember to turn the oven on before I go shower.

Check out the recipes. With 31 options there’s bound to be some you might enjoy.

Question: What is your favorite breakfast?

I'd love to hear from you!

