Pinspire Me Friday – Vol. 26

Standard

Welcome back! I took an extended holiday break (well in some areas of my life, such as blogging) and now I’m back on schedule. Feels good to be back in the swing of things. Check out today’s pin!

This caught my eye for a variety of reasons. Ever since I changed jobs almost two years ago and no longer had a separate work phone, I’ve made a conscious effort to take time away from my phone, to be more “present.” That’s not to say there aren’t times when I’m glued to it or I panic when I’ve misplaced it, but there are definitely times I try to leave it be.

If I go out to dinner, I leave it in my bag. I try not to walk around stores on the phone or texting. If I’m home with Gabe and we’re having a conversation, I definitely put it down so I’m fully engaged. Sometimes I’ve let the battery die just so I can be unplugged for a little while. There are probably a variety of other examples.

I think it’s important to take time away from our electronic devices, especially our phones. It can be hard because often that is our only phone. I don’t have a landline. However, there are benefits to not always being so attached to it.

  1. It’s probably safer. How many times have you seen someone texting while driving or crossing a street without looking while glued to their phone?

2. You might have an actual face-to-face conversation with a human being.

3. You give your mind a break from the constant alerts you get from a million different apps and messaging services.

4. You can just enjoy a moment for what it is, rather than having to document every last piece via social media.

There are tons of other benefits. The detox definitely looks challenging, but maybe worth a shot.

Question: Would you consider doing a cell phone detox?

 

I'd love to hear from you!

