#RaceRecap: Black Moshannon 5k

Standard
Excited to have finished 1st in my age group and fourth overall for women.

Excited to have finished 1st in my age group and fourth overall for women.

How was your Memorial Day weekend? Do anything special?

It was a busy weekend for me. I ran the Black Moshannon 5k on Saturday before a pretty low key afternoon. I was planning a long run for Sunday, but my allergies kicked in hard core Saturday afternoon and it wasn’t until about noon on Sunday I felt normal again. So, I opted against the long run and went for a 2 hour hike on a popular local trail that was new to us. I closed out Sunday with dinner with two college girlfriends.

I started off Memorial Day with the 35th Annual Memorial Day Run (recap to come later this week). After, Gabe and I walked around the festival in Boalsburg. Boalsburg is one of a couple towns that claim to have started the Memorial Day tradition/holiday to honor fallen soldiers. They have a great festival each year with reenactments, craft and food vendors, concerts, a car show and more. It’s very patriotic and I think it helps us all remember the true meaning of the day.

So anyway, rewind to Saturday and the Black Moshannon 5k. While I’ve run the 10k twice, I opted for the 5k this year. I had never run it and since I had been planning on that long run Sunday and another race Monday, I thought it would be good to go with a shorter distance. My shins get mad when I run several days in a row :-/

While the Black Moshannon 10k is known for its infamous hill early on in the race, the 5k is known for being flat and relatively fast. It’s an out-and-back course that deviates a bit on the way back. The elevation chart is below, but what appear to be hills according to it really aren’t noticeable, minus the short, steep one near the end.

Screen Shot 2015-05-26 at 10.35.41 AM

 

More than 150 people ran the 5k. It didn’t feel like that much, but we spread out pretty fast. Despite being in a state park, there were quite a few people along the route sitting out in front of their cabins cheering for the runners. The race starts a little later at 10 a.m., but the weather was perfect! Even if it had been warmer, the 5k route is almost entirely shaded.

I ran fast from the start and admit my legs fatigued a bit after a tough workout the day before. I kept pushing as I was curious to see if I could get close to my PR. Upon returning to the start the course heads up into a parking lot for another turnaround before you run into grass and up a steep hill to the road the 10k runners come down. It was a tough uphill but running downhill to the finish line was a nice reward.

I finished in 23:37 as the fourth overall female and 1st in the 25-29 age group. It was a 3 second PR. I was happy with that. I know that when I move away from where I live to a more populated area I probably won’t such good finishes, but I’ll enjoy them for now 🙂

Overall, I thought the race continued to be well done. After so many years, they know what they’re doing at this point. My only criticism is of the water station at the turnaround point for the 5k. I don’t generally take water in a 5k, especially when the weather is cool, but I know there are a lot of runners who do. There were two teenagers (I think they were teens) there with two Gatorade coolers. The cups were still stacked and they were just standing there leaning on the coolers. If you needed water it was almost as if you would have to fill your own cup. Not exactly how water stations tend to work. Other than that, it was a great race and morning and I’d do it again next year.

Did you run/race this weekend?

 

3 thoughts on “#RaceRecap: Black Moshannon 5k

I'd love to hear from you!

