It’s National Running Day!

Standard

The wait is over! It’s finally National Running Day! For some reason I’m extra excited this year and can’t wait until the workday is over and I can go get in a few miles.

I’ve seen so many companies and organizations getting into National Running Day this year. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen this graphic, for example.

11391439_499506613558930_3562830716568731715_nThis made me think. Why do I run? I think it’s for a lot of reasons. I run…

  • because I enjoy it.
  • because I want to be faster.
  • because I want to be fit and healthy.
  • because it provides challenges I want to overcome.
  • for my buddy Lorinda through I Run 4 Michael.
  • because I like my sweets.
  • to spend time with friends.
  • to spend time by myself.
  • because I can.

I could probably go on and on but I’ll save you from that 🙂

Why do you run?

I also wanted to take this opportunity to share links to some great National Running Day social media events, as well as discounts, deals and giveaways some companies are offering.

ASICS is my preferred running shoe. They’re celebrating today using the hashtag #gorunitJune3. Show ASICS how you will #gorunitJune3 on social media and you might be featured on their social media channels and you’ll be automatically entered into their sweepstakes. For everyone 100 tweets that use the hashtag, ASICS will give away a free pair of shoes to a random winner. How awesome would that be?!? They also have a great badge you can share after you get your run in today.

Brooks is also celebrating National Running Day on social media. Tag @Brooksrunning and use the hashtag #thankyourunning. They’ll be regraming and retweeting their favorites all day. It also sounds like they have a few special things planned for the day on their channels so keep an eye out.

Finally, a link I found that you might want to check out is a list of all the deals, discounts and giveaways currently being offered in honor of National Running Day. There are discounts from Lole, Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon series, Hyland’s, Women’s Running magazine and more!

So go hit the treadmill or the road or the trail and get in some miles today! Oh, and don’t forget to share it 🙂

How are you celebrating?

I'd love to hear from you!

