#RaceRecap: Crack O’ Dawn 5k

Standard

It was another fun time at the 12th Annual Crack O’ Dawn 5k on Saturday. For the first time in the four years I have participated, it was actually a comfortable temperature. Thanks to a cold front and a huge mass of rain, the temperature was only 60 degrees. It was chilly compared to past years when it’s been 85 with 100% humidity and full sun.

I met my friend Michel at the race and also ran into my friend Amber. She has recently caught the running bug herself. There were about 50 participants in this year’s race, probably due to the rainy conditions. It was a pretty steady rain with a bit of wind. Thankfully the weather didn’t take a turn for the worse until later in the day.

The course remained the same as previous years with two nice long hill climbs. This year they didn’t feel nearly as taxing as they have in the past, which I chalk up to my strength training. I spent the first half of the race trailing this 10 year old girl who runs in the local youth track program. She will be running in the state meet. The second half of the race she took off. She was quite the runner!

I finished in 24:13 for 5th overall female and 2nd overall in the 20-29 age group. It was my best time on the course, but not a new PR. I was surprised at my time, especially since they didn’t have the big clock up at the finish due to the weather. I’ve also been battling a cold and I didn’t feel too great Saturday at all.

As usual the pancake breakfast was nice and the local Boalsburg merchants contributed a lot of great giveaways for participants. Amber and I ended up with two tickets to the summer show for VanDance, the local dance company the race benefits. We’re going to see the show this weekend. I’m hoping it’s good!

Did you race this weekend? How’d it go?

I'd love to hear from you!

