#RaceRecap: Firecracker 4k

Standard

I hope you all had a wonderful Independence Day weekend! How did you celebrate? I had a pretty low-key few days myself, but they did include a race and of course some fireworks.

For only the second time I signed up to run the Firecracker 4k, the race that kicks of the Central Pennsylvania 4th Fest event. I’m not sure why I’ve now only done it two times considering I haven’t left town for the holiday in quite a few years. The last time I ran it was 2012 and that was a rough one. Due to excessive campus construction the entire course was set up around the commuter parking lots at the football stadium. It was brutal as it was the usual 85 degrees, sunny and humid, and the parking lots have zero shade.

This year, the course was nice. It was a quick loop around campus with a long downhill early, a short uphill near the middle of the course, and a long flat straightaway to the finish.

2015 Firecracker 4k Course with start and finish between Beaver Stadium and the Bryce Jordan Center.

2015 Firecracker 4k Course with start and finish between Beaver Stadium and the Bryce Jordan Center.

Despite a very rainy morning, it quit in time for the race but started again soon after. It was actually nice to have the cooler temperature for the run. My friend Lauren, who was up visiting family for the weekend, made the race part of her long run. She ran 7 miles to the race, ran the race and ran 7 miles back home. She’s a rockstar, but boy was she drenched after that. We stopped for a picture at the new sculpture on campus before she went on her way.

Can't wait until installation is complete!

Can’t wait until installation is complete!

Despite the rainy weather, the race had a great turnout. I definitely recommend it if you’re ever up for the fireworks and festival here.

The rain eventually cleared up in the early evening. I went out to check on our garden and am excited to see things coming along.  So far we’ve already eaten one cucumber and have two more ready to be picked. The other veggies are well on their way.

Can't wait til the tomatoes start to change color!

Can’t wait til the tomatoes start to change color!

For the fireworks we’re really lucky in that we can just watch from the backyard. I pulled my car around to the back of the house to use the radio. The fireworks here are set to music and a local radio station carries the show. It was a great mix of popular favorites and classic patriotic songs.

On Sunday I hit up a cycle class with Lauren before she and her husband hit the road. I hadn’t been to cycle since earlier this year so it was a buttkicker, but a great workout. After I washed my car since it was going to be sunny this week, but of course I woke up to a rain shower. Well, at least it was clean for about 18 hours.

I have another race coming up this weekend, the ArtsFest 10-miler. While I wouldn’t mind some sunshine for once, a cooler temperature would be welcome since a lot of the course lacks shade. Look for a recap next week!

What did you do over the holiday weekend? Tell me something good!

I'd love to hear from you!

