#WorkoutWednesday

Standard

It’s time for another #WorkoutWednesday post! I don’t know about you, but I’ve been having a lot of great workouts lately. I felt like I was in such a rut for much of this summer. I’m finally feeling like myself again and am excited to get in runs and workouts at the gym.

Yesterday I went to Ki’netik over lunch for their express class. It was a great mix of strength and cardio. After work I went on a quick run to stay on track with marathon training. Today, I went with my strength routine. I used to do this routine, minus 3 exercises that I recently added, 3 times a week. Over time I steadily increased the weights I was using and lost a few inches.

During my rut I got a bit sporadic with my strength training. I think it’s important to tell you that, especially as a trainer, because we all get into ruts when it comes to fitness (actually we get into ruts in other areas of our lives too). Sometimes you just need to change it up or take a breather. Whatever the reason, it’s important to know it’s ok!

So cheers to being out of my rut and back in the groove. Check out my strength routine I did earlier today.

WorkoutWed2

My goal with this workout is 3-4 sets of 8-12 reps of each exercise. I do all three sets before moving on to the next exercise. While I don’t go to a big gym that’s super crowded, using that format helps me stay out of the way of others and not hog equipment for an extended period of time. I try to always keep my body guessing and adapting by increasing the reps, weights or both.

Adding consistent strength training earlier this year provided some great benefits. In addition to changing how my body looked in the form of losing a few inches, it also improved my running. I got faster and even found that I wasn’t fatiguing as quickly, especially when running hills.

Tomorrow I’m back on the road with a 10k run!

What are your workout plans this week?

Disclaimer: Please always consult a physician or other qualified health professional before beginning a fitness program. If I share any workouts, remember that we have not discussed your personal fitness needs and I can’t be sure if a workout is right for you. Proceed accordingly.

I'd love to hear from you!

