#Friday Five: Favorite Fall Activities

Standard

I’m excited to being jumping in on another #FridayFive with Cynthia at You Signed Up for What?, Mar at Mar on the Run, and Courtney from Eat Pray Run DC. This week’s theme: Favorite Fall Activities.

dc_linkup

  1. Fall training runs and races.

I love running in the fall. The cooler temperatures, the beautiful scenery, etc, etc, etc. It’s just a great time to be out on the road or trails.

There are also soooo many races to pick from. It can be so hard to decide with many races taking place each weekend. I’m curious how things will go for me in my fall races. Running in the summer gets tough for me with the heat, but I’m feeling pretty good at this point. I do need to step up the speed training if I’m looking to get any PRs.

This was my first Tussey Mountainback team. We won the Mega Women's group that year and received medals and a plaque.

This was my first Tussey Mountainback team. We won the Mega Women’s category that year and received medals and a plaque.

I have my first fall half on Oct. 3. After that is the Runner’s World Hat Trick with the 5k, 10k, and half marathon over two days. Closing out October is the Tussey Mountain Relay and Ultramarathon. I’m part of a team of 6. In November I’m running the Annapolis Running Classic Half and closing out the fall with the Rehobeth Seashore Marathon in December.

2. Baking fall foods.

This probably sounds a bit silly, but when I say “fall foods” I mean things like apple pie, pumpkin pie, pumpkin bread, and more. Yes, you can make those items at any time of year but they seem to just taste so much better when the leaves are orange, yellow and red and the temperatures outside are cooler. Hmmm wonder which one I’ll tackle first?

3. Picking out a pumpkin.

All through my childhood we went to a family farm near our home to pick out pumpkins. There are pictures of my brother and I from infancy onward with their fun themed pumpkin displays and ultimately our very own pumpkins. Buying a pumpkin at the grocery store just never feels the same, even if those pumpkins did come from the the farm you might have otherwise visited. There’s something about actually going to the farm, even if you don’t go out in the field and pick your own, that makes it extra special.

Hoping to pick out our own pumpkins again this year.

               Hoping to pick out our own pumpkins again this year.

4. Wearing fall clothes.

Don’t get me wrong, I love wearing dresses and shorts all summer long. But after the many months of warm weather, I get excited to break out my sweaters, jeans and boots again. I finally have black riding boots (to go with my brown ones and tan ones) and got new rain boots too.

5. Thanksgiving.

Sorry Halloween fans, I’m skipping right over that holiday. I’m not the biggest fan of Halloween anymore. Well I haven’t been since college, if I’m being honest. I am dressing up this year with my college girl friends. We call ourselves Heifers, so we’re dressing up as…you guessed it…heifers.

Anyway, I love Thanksgiving. By this point, we’re deep into fall. The leaves are now brown and the weather is starting to get more of a chill. I’m a sucker for the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. And we can’t forget the food. There’s just something so great about turkey, gravy, mashed potatoes, stuffing, vegetables and pumpkin pie. MMMMmmmmm!

I think I need to find a Turkey Trot to run this year too.

What are some of your favorite fall activities?

4 thoughts on “#Friday Five: Favorite Fall Activities

  1. RunMomMe

    The other day I went on a run with Moms Run Wild Tracy and I uttered the silly words…Pumpkin Spice for everyone!!! I know…sad as it is…I still love a good pumpkin spice latte. As a mom of two I plan to enjoy at least one each day while my littles are in school starting next week!

    Sounds like you have a busy fall! Enjoy all those races!

    • Thanks for visiting! I do love pumpkin spice things too. I’ve been burning this pumpkin spice candle in my kitchen…it smells so good! Panera has a Pumpkin Spice drink you might want to try…it looks yummy!

I'd love to hear from you!

