Pinspire Me Friday – Vol. 43

Standard

This week’s Pinspire Me Friday post is a bit personal. And, if I’m being honest, I didn’t actually find the graphic and quote on Pinterest. I saw it on Instagram from RunnerBox and took a screenshot.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 4.18.28 PM

So why did this hit home with me?

On several occasions my path and the decisions I have to make along that path have been harshly criticized. I think this stems partly because the journeys of those who criticize have been different than mine and far more closely resemble the “normal” path women of our age and background tend to take, as well as the experiences they have had up to this point. That path often includes marriage in our 20s, buying a home in the suburbs, getting a dog, etc.

And that’s great!

However, my path so far has been different from that one. In fact it’s different than what even I would’ve predicted my path would be had you asked me when I was just a 20 year old in my junior year of college.

And that’s ok. In fact, it’s more than ok.

It’s my path. No one else’s. And yes, there are others who are part of this journey, some very intimately. But just because my path is different, doesn’t mean it’s not a perfectly good one. More importantly, it doesn’t mean I’m lost.

My path has and continues to teach me valuable lessons; ones involving patience, empathy, dedication and the ability to adapt. I still have goals and dreams I truly hope become a reality one day. I’ve also learned to enjoy not always having a plan and seeing where this adventure called life takes me.

In the meantime, I’m enjoying my path regardless of how different it is and the challenges it presents. My path may be different, but it certainly does not mean I’m lost.

P.S. This is not an endorsement for RunnerBox, but I do want to try them sometime. Have any of you tried the subscription or another similar service?

I'd love to hear from you!

