What to Do and Not to Do Before You Workout

Standard

Ever wonder what you should eat or drink before a workout? You might be curious to know if it’s ok to have that cup of coffee, for example. You might also want to know if or how much you should stretch? What other questions come to mind?

Health Perch recently shared the infographic below that answers all those questions and more. Check it out!

There are a few areas I thought it might good to dive into a bit more. While I’m not a coffee drinker myself, I know a lot of people who enjoy a cup before they head out on a run. You might be wondering about the caffeine. While again I’m not getting caffeine from coffee (or really anywhere else), when I’m out on a long run I have noticed some of my gels have caffeine in them. I personally haven’t had any issues. I think it all depends on what feels good for you and that might take some trial and error. Ultimately the most important thing, regardless of the type of workout you’re doing, is to be hydrated.

When it comes to stretching and warming up, I’m a big fan of a dynamic warmup rather than static stretching. In fact, some of the exercises shown in the infographic are used at the gym I go to in our dynamic warmups. I’ve also incorporated some of them into my pre-run routine. I find it helps to make sure my hips and legs and even my upper body are warmed up before I take off. I usually save static stretching for post workout.

Finally, some other things the infographic suggests we think about is the weather, our sleep and our clothing choices. I love cool and cold weather running. It can be hard to know how to dress for that. You don’t want to overdress, but you also don’t want to have missed the boat entirely and not be able to stay warm either. Sometimes it’s simply too cold outside and it’s better to move the workout indoors. Other important things to remember are sunscreen and sunglasses regardless of the season. Even in winter the sun can be pretty intense for our skin and eyes.

Health Perch shared their own thoughts along with their infographic. If you have a few minutes, check out their tips and tricks too.

What is your pre-workout routine like?

One thought on “What to Do and Not to Do Before You Workout

I'd love to hear from you!

