Marathon Training

Standard

After a rough start thanks to some snowy weather and just being plain busy, I’m charging full steam ahead into marathon training. I’ve signed up for the Shipyard Maine Coast 39.3 Challenge in May and will run the half marathon on the first day and the full marathon on the second day. Apparently after doing the Hat Trick at Runner’s World this past October, I thought I should take on a slightly bigger challenge!

I spent awhile before Christmas trying to find a training plan for such a challenge, but wasn’t having much luck. Then it dawned on me that the Goofy Challenge at Disney World is the same thing. I found several training plans for Goofy, but none really seemed like they would work for me. Then I found an article about training for Goofy that involved Hal Higdon. I’ve used Hal Higdon’s plans many times. He recommended his intermediate marathon training plan.

The plan is ambitious and includes back-to-back Saturday/Sunday runs, as well as three 20-milers. What I like is that like with all of his other plans, you can modify for your body’s needs. The intermediate plan has five runs a week, but he said you can drop one of the short runs early in the week if that’s too much for you. I know it’s too much for me, so I’m focusing on four runs per week plus various cross training options. I know I’ll have to adjust as I go, but I’m feeling good about it.

I’m also signed up for a few races that will add some fun to all the training. I have a few half marathons on the docket, as well as a 5k next week and maybe a local 10-mile race later on. I’m excited for what the next few weeks and months have in store.

Another thing I’m excited about are the Shipyard Maine Coast Marathon medals. You get three for doing the 39.3 challenge. The full and the half medals are pretty similar and the 39.3 medal is its own unique design. I love them!

12525124_1039194026141049_3884551065366323786_o

12493952_1039194019474383_7657931231154413705_o

After a challenging start to my training, I’m hoping this week is the start of many good weeks. I mapped out my workout schedule in advance, which includes my runs, and it’s really helped me stay on track. Here’s how my week mapped out. So far so good!


Monday – Circuit training (45 min)

Tuesday – 4 mile run, strength training

Wednesday – Circuit training (30 minutes), 30 min. lap swim

Thursday – 3 mile run, core

Friday – Yoga, strength training

Saturday – 6 mile run, core

Sunday – 8 mile run


 

Hopefully continuing to map things out in advance will help me stick to the schedule. Obviously things come up and I’ll adjust as needed, but it helps to have things on the to-do list. I love checking things off when I’m done!

How do you make sure you get your workouts in when life can often get in the way?

 

2 thoughts on “Marathon Training

  1. luciepalka

    During the week, I usually workout during my lunch hour. With a toddler at home, I find it’s the best strategy. Obviously, it’s not enough time to train for, let’s say a 1/2 marathon that I want to do this year, but at least I get something done. I try and do at least one long run on weekends.

    • I like your method. Lunch is a great time to workout. I try to do that once in awhile too! I figure even if the workout is short, it’s better than not doing anything at all. Plus the only workouts we regret are the ones we don’t do. Weekends are my long run time too!

I'd love to hear from you!

