Friday Five: Favorite Fitness Products

Standard

It’s been awhile since I joined in on a Friday Five linkup, but getting to share some of my favorite things seemed like a perfect way to jump back in. You can join in too with linkup hosts, Cynthia, Mar and Courtney.

dc_linkup

The topic for the third Friday of each month is “Favorites.” I thought I’d share some of my favorite fitness and running items. I’ve personally found a lot of great products I’ve come to love when other people have shared their favorite fitness products. Here goes!

1. RockTape RockNRoller

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 2.57.32 PM

I got this from my massage therapist after my last marathon and it’s awesome. She actually put on a foam rolling class where we all got to try it out so I knew what I was getting prior to purchasing. The “fascial fingers” as the nodules are called help work on those knots and other sore areas in your muscles. The interior of the roller is hollow so you can use it for storage of balls, bands, wallet and or car keys. It also has a strap for easy transport. My massage therapist always packs it in her suitcase and uses the inside for her delicate items to help save some room.

2. RockTape

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 3.03.07 PMSince I’m already focusing on the brand, I have to also include RockTape. I absolutely love this tape. It’s really helped me with some biomechanics issues I have and also helped me perform more efficiently. In addition, it’s great in recovery. One other perk is that it comes in a ton of great colors and patterns, although I’m partial to pink, purple and the RockTape logo shown above.

3. Spibelt

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 3.09.16 PM

I think I’ve talked about this before, but I really love it. I purchased it on a whim prior to running the Marine Corps Marathon so I could carry my phone with me easily. I just hoped it wouldn’t move. I was not disappointed. It stayed exactly where I placed it and I didn’t even know it was there, even with my phone in it. I often use it on long runs for my phone or gels. It’s really been a great addition to my gear.

4. Old Navy Compression Crops

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 3.13.05 PM

Don’t get me wrong, I love great high-end running crops.  However, some of the brands these days charge an exorbitant amount for pants that are often sheer, don’t stay in place or aren’t of good quality. I love to splurge now and then when I find a great pair, but have been extremely happy with my affordable purchases from Old Navy.

I have the above in basic black, as well as the black that has a subtle pattern. They fit true to size, which is a medium for me, and are not sheer even when in downward dog or a squat. They wash well and last a long time. The price also can’t be beat.

5. Lululemon 5m Reversible Yoga Mat

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 3.17.31 PM

This was my Valentine’s Day gift and it was such a nice surprise! I’d been using a cheap yoga mat and it was just not cutting it, especially when you’re in a class where you’re sweating up a storm. This is the perfect solution and I can’t wait to test it out in class soon.

Do you have any favorite fitness products or gear? What are they and why do you like them?

6 thoughts on “Friday Five: Favorite Fitness Products

I'd love to hear from you!

